Dr. Adolf Ahanotu - Sensation (1986) Reissue 2017

Dr. Adolf Ahanotu - Sensation (1986) Reissue 2017

Artist: Dr. Adolf Ahanotu
Title: Sensation
Year Of Release: 2017 [1986]
Label: PMG [PMG064]
Genre: Afrobeat, Boogie, Calypso, Disco, Funk, Reggae
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 34:56
Total Size: 101 mb / 236 mb

At a time when bandleaders in Nigeria used titles as an affectation, Dr. Adolf Ahanotu was the real deal. He had a PhD in music compilation and Master’s degrees in education and communication. He also played a mean tenor sax, an instrument he mastered touring Owerri with the Mirabels.
Ahanotu’s scholarly background is apparent in the impeccable arrangements and the way each track is labelled with its musical type. The banging opening track, ‘Sensation’ is disco, notes the helpful doctor. The legendary ‘Ijere’ is to be considered Remire or Afro Jazz. ‘Litany of Freedom’ is reggae, ‘Cupid’ is rock and ‘Tropical Moonlight’ classified as the blues. The mandatory ode to the nation, ‘Happy Nigeria’, is labelled as calypso.
But these are not dry, scholarly pieces. ‘Sensation’ reeks of dance floor freakiness not the hallowed halls of academia. And listen to the pitch bend craziness on ‘Injere’. Sure, Dr. Ahanotu had studied the rules. But he wasn’t afraid to break them. From the freaked-out opening seconds of the title track you are left in no doubt: The doctor is in the house.
Mastered and produced by Goddy Oku.
1 – Sensation (07:14)
2 – Tropical Moonlight (06:15)
3 – Ijere (04:04)
4 – Cupid (04:43)
5 – Litany Of Freedom (05:50)
6 – Happy Nigeria (06:18)

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Dr. Adolf Ahanotu - Sensation (1986) Reissue 2017
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018