Robert Calvert - Captain Lockheed The Starfighters (1974) Remastered (2009) Lossless

Robert Calvert - Captain Lockheed The Starfighters (1974) Remastered (2009) Lossless

  • Genre: Rock, FLAC / APE
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1475 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Robert Calvert
Title: Captain Lockheed & The Starfighters
Year Of Release: 1974 [2009]
Label: Atomhenge [ATOMCD 1017]
Genre: Prog Rock, Psych Rock, Space Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks + scans)
Total Time: 00:59:55
Total Size: 325mb(+5%)

Featuring: Brian Eno, Arthur Brown.....

Lockheed remains something of an overlooked landmark for the backing musicians alone. Besides assorted Hawkwind types and associates like author Michael Moorcock, other sorts from Brian Eno and producer Roy Thomas Baker to dyed-in-the-wool English musical nutters like Arthur Brown and ex-Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band member Viv Stanshall, lead participant on the weird and wooly "dialogues" peppered throughout, make an appearance. The latter's ranting German-accented performance on the opening snippet, "Franz Joseph Strauss," sounds like someone escaped from an insane asylum, while his more-English-than-thou bits on the other parts are just as gone: check out "Board Meeting" and "Ground Control" for quick but effective examples. If not quite as space rock/trip-out as Hawkwind itself, Calvert brings a lot of that band's chugging, freak-out atmosphere to the fore, while his own vocals, when they appear, are, a touch surprisingly, fairly cool and calm in comparison. The occasionally explicit nods surface more than once; there's talk about a "silver machine" on "The Aerospaceage Inferno," while one can tell Dave Brock and Lemmy are playing guitar and bass almost by default. Similarly, the sax player could only be Nik Turner. The whole album allegedly is something of a concept story about said captain and the sleek combat planes he flies (the Starfighters being a type of plane used by the US Air Force in the '60s), but even without the story at work it's still a trip. There's the aggressively tweaked vocals on "The Right Stuff," which with what sounds like Eno on keyboards sends things halfway to the freaked-out zone of prime Roxy Music. "The Song of the Gremlin, Pt. 1," meanwhile, has an introduction that Ween must have assuredly heard somewhere along the way, it's that completely crazy. Well worth searching out.
01. Franz Josef Strauss, Defence Minister, Reviews The Luftwaffe In 1958 - 1:40
02. The Aerospaceage Inferno - 4:35
03. Aircraft Salesman (A Door In The Foot) - 1:41
04. The Widow Maker (Dave Brock, R. Calvert) - 2:42
05. Two Test Pilots Discuss The Starfighter's Performance - 0:41
06. The Right Stuff - 4:23
07. Board Meeting (Seen Through A Contract Lens) - 0:58
08. The Song Of The Gremlin (Part One) (Arthur Brown, R. Calvert, A. Wagner) - 3:21
09. Ground Crew (Last Minute Reassembly Before Take Off) - 3:17
10. Hero With A Wing - 3:20
11. Ground Control To Pilot - 0:52
12. Ejection - 3:35
13. Interview - 3:55
14. I Resign - 0:27
15. The Song Of The Gremlin (Part Two) (Brown, R. Calvert, A. Wagner) - 3:10
16. Bier Garten - 0:38
17. Catch A Falling Starfighter - 2:54
Bonus Tracks:
18. The Right Stuff (Extended Version) - 8.07
19. Ejection (Single Version) - 3.47
20. Catch A Falling Starfighter (Single Version) - 3.00
Robert Calvert / vocals, voice, percussion
Paul Rudolph / lead, rhythm, and bass guitar
Lemmy Kilminster / bass, rhythm guitar
Simon King / drums
Brian Eno / synthesizers, electronic effects
Del Dettmar / synthesizers
Nik Turner / saxophone
Dave Brock / guitar
Arthur Brown / vocal
Adrian Wagner / keyboards
Twink / drum
Vivian Stanshall, Jim Capaldi, Tom Mittledorf, Richard Ealing / voice
All thanks to original releaser
Download / Download:

Password / Пароль: James

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Robert Calvert - Captain Lockheed The Starfighters (1974) Remastered (2009) Lossless
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018