Buzzcocks – Singles Going Steady (1977-80) Remastered

Buzzcocks – Singles Going Steady (1977-80) Remastered

  • Genre: Punk, FLAC / APE
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1523 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Buzzcocks
Title Of Album: Singles Going Steady
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: EMI 34442-2
Genre: Punk
Quality: MP3 | FLAC
Bitrate: VBR 0 | Lossless
Total Time: 01:15:41
Total Size: 160 MB | 544 MB
01. Orgasm Addict 2:03
02. What Do I Get? 2:56
03. I Don't Mind 2:20
04. Love You More 1:51
05. Ever Fallen In Love? 2:42
06. Promises 2:37
07. Everybody's Happy Nowadays 3:14
08. Harmony In My Head 3:09
09. You Say You Don't Love Me 2:55
10. Are Everything 3:59
11. Strange Thing 4:10
12. Running Free 3:15
13. What Ever Happened To? 2:15
14. Oh Shit! 1:38
15. Autonomy 3:46
16. Noise Annoys 2:53
17. Just Luck 3:02
18. Lipstick 2:40
19. Why Can't I Touch It? 6:38
20. Something's Gone Wrong Again 4:36
21. Raison d'Кtre 3:35
22. Why She's The Girl From The Chainstore 2:27
23. Airwaves Dream 3:55
24. What Do You Know 3:15
Pete Shelley: guitar, vocals, keyboards
Steve Diggl: guitar, vocals
John Maher: drums
Garth Smith: bass
Steve Garvey: bass
Review from Allmusic:
If Never Mind the Bollocks and London Calling are held up as punk masterpieces, then there's no question that Singles Going Steady belongs alongside them. In fact, the slew of astonishing seven-inches collected on Steady and their influence on future musicians - punk or otherwise – sometimes even betters more famous efforts. The title and artwork alone (the latter itself partially inspired by the Beatles' Let it Be) have been parodied or referred to by Halo of Flies and Don Caballero, which titled its own singles comp Singles Breaking Up. As for the music, anybody who ever combined full-blast rock, catchy melodies and romantic and social anxieties owes something to what the classic quartet did here. The deservedly well-known masterpiece "Ever Fallen in Love" appears along with Love Bites' "Just Lust," but the remaining tracks originally appeared only as individual A and B-sides, making this collection all the more essential. The earlier numbers showcase a band bursting with energy and wicked humor - the tongue-in-cheek "Orgasm Addict," details the adventures of a sex freak with a ridiculous fake orgasm vocal break to boot. However, the slightly more serious but no less frenetic singles are equally enthralling. "What Do I Get?" with its pained cry about lacking love, the deeply cynical "Everybody's Happy Nowadays" and Diggle's roaring "Harmony in My Head" are just three highlights on an album made of them. The final songs show the band incorporating their more adventuresome side into their singles, as with the slower, very Can-inspired "Why Can't I Touch It?," the semi-jokey stop-start thrash "Noise Annoys," and the Murphy's Law worries of "Something's Gone Wrong Again." [The UK release adds eight bonus tracks, four after the original A side ("You Say You Don't Love Me," "Are Everything," "Strange Thing," and "Running Free") and four after the original B side ("Raison d'Etre," "Why She's the Girl from the Chainstore," "Airwaves Dream," and "What Do You Know")]
Biography by Stephen Thomas Erlewine from Allmusic:
Formed in Manchester, England, in 1975, the Buzzcocks were one of the most influential bands to emerge in the initial wave of punk rock. With their crisp melodies, driving guitars, and guitarist Pete Shelley's biting lyrics, the Buzzcocks were one of the best, most influential punk bands. The Buzzcocks were inspired by the Sex Pistols' energy, yet they didn't copy the Pistols' angry political stance. Instead, they brought that intense, brilliant energy to the three-minute pop song. Shelley's alternately funny and anguished lyrics about adolescence and love were some of the best and smartest of his era; similarly, the Buzzcocks' melodies and hooks were concise and memorable. Over the years, their powerful punk-pop has proven enormously influential, with echoes of their music being apparent in everyone from Hüsker Dü to Nirvana. …
More info here:

Alternative download links

Flac Mp3 Flac Mp3

Related MP3 FLAC to Buzzcocks – Singles Going Steady (1977-80) Remastered
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018