The Zombies - Odessey and Oracle (1968) Japan 2004

The Zombies - Odessey and Oracle (1968) Japan 2004

Artist: The Zombies
Title: Odessey and Oracle [Japan]
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Imperial Records [TECI - 21220]
Genre: Classic Rock, Pop Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Total Time: 73:30
Total Size: 383 MB

The Zombies are an English rock band, formed in 1962 in St Albans and led by Rod Argent (piano, organ and vocals) and Colin Blunstone (vocals).
The group scored British and American hits in 1964 with "She's Not There". In the US two further singles, "Tell Her No" in 1965 and "Time of the Season" in 1969, were also successful. Their 1968 album Odessey and Oracle is ranked number 100 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.
Bruce Eder, All Music Guide:
Odessey and Oracle was one of the flukiest (and best) albums of the 1960s, and one of the most enduring long-players to come out of the entire British psychedelic boom, mixing trippy melodies, ornate choruses, and lush Mellotron sounds with a solid hard rock base. But it was overlooked completely in England and barely got out in America (with a big push by Al Kooper, who was then a Columbia Records producer); and it was neglected in the U.S. until the single "Time of the Season," culled from the album, topped the charts nearly two years after it was recorded, by which time the group was long disbanded. Ironically, at the time of its recording in the summer of 1967, permanency was not much on the minds of the bandmembers. Odessey and Oracle was intended as a final statement, a bold last hurrah, having worked hard for three years only to see the quality of their gigs decline as the hits stopped coming. The results are consistently pleasing, surprising, and challenging: "Hung Up on a Dream" and "Changes" are some of the most powerful psychedelic pop/rock ever heard out of England, with a solid rhythm section, a hot Mellotron sound, and chiming, hard guitar, as well as highly melodic piano. "Changes" also benefits from radiant singing. "This Will Be Our Year" makes use of trumpets (one of the very few instances of real overdubbing) in a manner reminiscent of "Penny Lane"; and then there's "Time of the Season," the most well-known song in their output and a white soul classic. Not all of the album is that inspired, but it's all consistently interesting and very good listening, and superior to most other psychedelic albums this side of the Beatles' best and Pink Floyd's early work. Indeed, the only complaint one might have about the original LP is its relatively short running time, barely over 30 minutes, but even that's refreshing in an era where most musicians took their time making their point, and most of the CD reissues have bonus tracks to fill out the space available.
Stereo Mix:
01. Care of Cell
02. A Rose for Emily
03. Maybe After He's Gone
04. Beachwood Park
05. Brief Candles
06. Hugn Up on a Dream
07. Changes
08. I Want Her She Wants Me
09. This Will Be Our Year
10. Butcher's Tale (Western Front 1914)
11. Friends of Mine
12. Time of the Season
Mono Mix:
13. Care of Cell 44
14. A Rose for Emily
15. Maybe After He's Gone
16. Beachwood Park
17. Brief Candles
18. Hung Up on a Dream
19. Changes
20. I Want Her She Wants Me
21. This Will Be Our Year
22. Butcher's Tale (Western Front 1914)
23. Friends of Mine
24. Time of the Season
Bonus Tracks:
25. I'll Call You Mine
26. Time of the Season

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to The Zombies - Odessey and Oracle (1968) Japan 2004
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018