VA - The Big Beat 1963 (2013)

VA - The Big Beat 1963 (2013)

  • Genre: Pop, Rock
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1241 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: VA
Title Of Album: The Big Beat 1963
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Capitol
Genre: Pop, Rock`n`Roll
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 48:58 min
Total Size: 114 MB
1. The Big Beat - Bob & Sheri 2:02
2. First Rock And Roll Dance (Instrumental) - Brian Wilson 2:25
3. Gonna Hustle You (Demo) - Brian Wilson 2:06
4. Ride Away - Bob & Sheri 1:51
5. Funny Boy - The Honeys 3:00
6. Marie - The Honeys 2:26
7. Mother May I - The Beach Boys 2:14
8. I Do (Demo) - The Beach Boys 1:53
9. Bobby Left Me (Backing Track) - Brian Wilson 2:37
10. If It Can't Be You - Gary Usher 2:17
11. You Brought It All On Yourself - The Honeys 2:21
12. Make The Night A Little Longer - The Honeys 2:25
13. Rabbit's Foot (Unfinished Track With Backing Vocals) The Honeys 2:24
14. Summer Moon - Vicki Korcher 2:22
15. Side Two (Instrumental) - Brian Wilson 2:28
16. Ballad Of Ole' Betsy (Demo) - The Beach Boys 2:36
17. Thank Him (Demo) - Brian Wilson 2:19
18. Once You've Got Him - The Honeys 1:48
19. For Always And Forever (Demo) - The Honeys 2:12
20. Little Dirt Bike (Demo) - The Honeys 1:24
21. Darling I'm Not Stepping Out On You (Demo) - The Honeys 2:14
22. When I Think About You (Demo) - The Honeys 1:38
This surprise release from Capitol Records is the result of one of those pesky copyright laws that keep international lawyers in business. Due to a British 50-year expiration date on artists recordings - Capitol decided to protect their interests by gathering these rare recordings (some taken from private collector's acetates) and releasing them as a download-only album. Well, what's bad for copyright laws is all good for fans - this is one of the best releases of the year. Featuring a plethora of artists who worked with Brian Wilson, including the Honeys, Gary Usher, Jan & Dean, Bob & Sheri, and others (including The Beach Boys), these songs, many of them previously uncirculated are Brian Wilson at his most raw and edgy - before the art pretensions took over, before the drugs and alcohol took their toll. This is Brian the songwriter, who's still enamored with rock 'n' roll, and stretching his wings as a songwriter and producer for others. Despite being taken from various sources, the sound is very good (with the exception of Vicki Korcher's cover of "Summer Moon" which has notable distortion and surface noise), and you get some real gems - such as the rough-and-ready "First Rock and Roll Dance" or the strange Pyscho-like ranting found on "Mother May I" (which prefaces some of the 'crazy' to come on later Beach Boys releases); there's also the appearance of the long-awaited "Rabbit's Foot" which turns out to be the backing track for "Our Car Club" and numerous other gems scattered about. The big minus to this release is the absence of any kind of liner notes detailing the origins and fates of these tracks - making this release almost as faceless and head-scratching as any other bootleg release. Still - fun stuff, and fans should grab it while it's here.

Alternative download links


Related MP3 FLAC to VA - The Big Beat 1963 (2013)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018