Big Jon Atkinson - Boogie With You Baby (2014)

Big Jon Atkinson - Boogie With You Baby (2014)

  • Genre: Music, Blues
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1564 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Big Jon Atkinson
Title Of Album: Boogie With You Baby
Year Of Release: 2014
Genre: Modern Electric Blues
Label: Bluebeat Music
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 45:04
Total Size: 117 Mb
Covers: Full
01. Boogie With You Baby (3:26)
02. Natural Born Lover (3:00)
03. Mean Ole Train (4:36)
04. Go Away (2:48)
05. Feel So Worried (3:46)
06. Like Wolf (3:47)
07. Don't You Know (2:56)
08. Where'd You Stay (2:59)
09. Throw This Poor Dog A Bone (2:07)
10. Try Me One More Time (3:07)
11. Left My Happy Home (2:59)
12. Long Leanie Mama (2:32)
13. It Ain't Right (3:40)
14. Please Help (3:14)
Since moving to Southern California less than a year ago, twenty four year old Jon Atkinson has made a big splash on our Nation’s western shore. Atkinson is a man of immense talent, drive and determination. He has established himself as an in demand sideman, as he can play virtually any instrument. Big Jon also possesses that increasingly elusive commodity, the ability to sing the blues.
He has been spotted up and down the Southern California coast from Ventura to San Diego playing harp, guitar, bass or drums as well as singing with a couple of generations of blues luminaries including James Harman, Al Blake and Kim Wilson. He has recorded an album with Mark Mumea’s Silver Kings and recently completed this, his first solo album, Boogie With You Baby on Bluebeat Music.
Boogie With You Baby was recorded with another extremely gifted musician, Nathan James. James’ Sacred Cat studio in the Northern San Diego County enclave of Oceanside is where Big Jon surrounded himself with big talent such as pianist Fred Kaplan and James’ Rhythm Scratchers’ bassist Troy Sandow and drummer Marty Dodson. Two and half days after walking into the studio, Atkinson and company had a fourteen song gem. Atkinson even wrote three of the selections here.
The originals fit nicely with some of the most obscure diamonds in the rough I have ever heard. Songs by Lightnin’ Slim, Jon Brim, Billy Boy Arnold, Junior Wells, J.B. Hutto and others are re-imagined and given a confident, relaxed feel that stay true to the original sound. These recordings could sit right alongside the originals (if you could find them), some of which I don’t even have in my library. For example, Jon found a Muddy Waters original that is nowhere to be found in my 22 album collection on Muddy. Atkinson can quickly add the title “The Indiana Jones of the Blues” to his resume’ for digging up these buried treasures.
For this, his first album, Big Jon Atkinson chose not to feature his guitar playing, which is also exceptional. He, instead, is heard singing and playing harmonica and doing so with verve and style. The guitar duties, save one track, are in the very capable hands of Nathan James. James eschewed his custom made “Washtars” for this outing and sticks with more traditional axes, a ‘59 Fender Jazz Master and a Gibson ES 175.
The addition of Fred Kaplan is a welcome treat. He plays piano on four tracks giving these numbers an extra dynamic and helps to enhance the old timey feel of the album. The consummate rhythm section of Sandow and Dotson is first rate.
The debut album of Big Jon Atkinson is cause for celebration which can commence soon as the CD is scheduled for a mid May release. Boogie With You Baby receives my highest recommendation. ~David Mac
| |

Alternative download links

Uploaded Oboom Turbobit

Related MP3 FLAC to Big Jon Atkinson - Boogie With You Baby (2014)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018