Kirk Whalum - The Christmas Message (2001)

Kirk Whalum - The Christmas Message (2001)

  • Genre: Music, Jazz
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1909 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Kirk Whalum
Title Of Album: The Christmas Message
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Warner Bros.
Genre: Jazz, Holiday
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:04:43 min
Total Size: 148 mb
Kirk Whalum assembled a wide array of musical talent to perform 14 updated arrangements on this superior collection of hymns, Christmas carols, and holiday folk music. While preserving the style of polyphonic modality (as in the ancient forms of caroling), Whalum updates the traditional carol "Little Drummer Boy" to "Little 'Ghetto' Drummer Boy" by using the two-part doo wop-flavored harmony of Kyle Whalum and Kevin Whalum atop a very hip beatbox rhythm loop to symmetrically structure a new setting. Other outstanding arrangements include the opening track, "The First Noel," which features Whalum playing its improvised melody on tenor saxophone, the reggae backbeat added to "Do You Hear (What I Hear)," and the soulful lead vocals of John Stoddart on his original composition "Love from a Star." Whalum's original composition, "Christmas Message," is a sensitive duet that features the saxophonist's soprano voice beautifully accompanied by the contemporary Christian instrumentalist Phil Keaggy on acoustic guitar. This holiday collection is commensurate with Whalum's previous inspirational and spirited instrumental offering, Hymns in the Garden, in that it offers a wonderful visitation to classic songs with a very different approach and touch.
01. The First Noel
02. Do You Hear What I Hear
03. Love From A Star
04. Cradle In Bethlehem
05. O Holy Night
06. The Little (Ghetto) Drummer Boy
07. Rise Up Shepherd And Follow
08. Sweet Little Jesus Boy
09. Amazing Grace
10. We Three Kings
11. The Christmas Message
12. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
13. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
14. Blott En Dag

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Kirk Whalum - The Christmas Message (2001)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018