Al Green - The Immortal Soul Of Al Green Box Set (2004)

Al Green - The Immortal Soul Of Al Green Box Set (2004)

Artist: Al Green
Title Of Album: The Immortal Soul Of Al Green
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: The Right Stuff
Genre: R&B, Smooth Soul, Funk, Gospel
Total Time: 4:48:21
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 694 mb / 1.62 gb
Al Green fans will be aware that The Immortal Soul of Al Green actually marks the second time that a four-CD box set of Green's recordings has been assembled, following by seven years its predecessor, Anthology. That being the case, the obvious question is, why do listeners need another Al Green box set? The answer lies in the two conflicting approaches most often employed in box sets. Basically, two different audiences buy box sets: first, those who are looking for a single, omnibus collection of an artist's recordings that is more comprehensive that a "greatest-hits" album; and second, collectors who already have all the hits and are looking for rarities and unreleased material. Many box sets are designed as compromises that split the difference to attract both audiences. Anthology leaned more toward collectors. It featured a mixture of original hit studio recordings and a heavy complement of live recordings, unreleased material, rarities, and interviews. Of the 28 Al Green tracks featured on singles for the Hot Line, Hi, and Bell labels that reached the Billboard R&B charts between 1967 and 1979, only 12 were included on Anthology. As a result, the album is referred to in its All Music Guide review as "a botched job" whose "appeal is solely for collectors." The Immortal Soul of Al Green goes to the other extreme. With the exception of a few tracks drawn from British rarities albums, such as the 15-minute edit of "Beware," a track from Green's Livin' for You LP, this box set consists of familiar studio recordings, sequenced almost chronologically, and relying on the hits. Of those same 28 R&B chart entries, 27 are included this time, the only exception being "I Feel Good" (number 36). The result tells the story of Al Green's hitmaking years, from his early work in the '60s to his move toward gospel at the end of the '70s, more clearly than did Anthology. And for those who would like the story written down, Colin Escott's liner notes do that job well, too.
Disk One (Sex)
01. Back Up Train (& The Soul Mates) [02:20]
02. Guilty (& The Soul Mates) [02:58]
03. I Want To Hold Your Hand [02:20]
04. One Woman [03:05]
05. Get Back, Baby [02:16]
06. Summertime [02:59]
07. What Am I Gonna Do With Myself [02:24]
08. I Can't Get Next To You [03:47]
09. God Is Standing By [03:14]
10. You Say It [02:52]
11. Right Now, Right Now [02:52]
12. Are You Lonely For Me Baby [03:57]
13. Driving Wheel [02:59]
14. Light My Fire [03:55]
15. Ride, Sally Ride (Single Edit) [02:24]
16. Tired Of Being Alone [02:52]
17. I'm A Ram [03:48]
18. So You're Leaving [02:56]
19. I've Never Found A Girl [03:42]
20. It Ain't No Fun To Me [03:27]
21. Let's Stay Together [03:19]
22. Old Time Lovin' [03:19]
23. La-La For You [03:31]
24. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart [06:24]
Disk Two (Love)
01. I'm Still In Love With You [03:13]
02. Love And Happiness [05:07]
03. Simply Beautiful [04:12]
04. Oh, Pretty Woman [03:23]
05. Look What You Done For Me [03:06]
06. Call Me (Come Back Home) [03:03]
07. Funny How Time Slips Away [05:34]
08. Here I Am (Come And Take Me) [04:16]
09. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry [03:12]
10. You Ought To Be With Me [03:17]
11. Jesus Is Waiting [05:37]
12. Livin' For You [03:11]
13. Let's Get Married [05:35]
14. Beware (Full Lenght Version) [15:07]
Disk Three (Salvation)
01. Take Me To The River [03:45]
02. So Good To Be Here [02:42]
03. My God Is Real [02:43]
04. Sha-La-La (Make Me Happy) [02:58]
05. The City [03:25]
06. God Blessed Our Love [03:56]
07. One Nite Stand [02:25]
08. I'm Hooked On You [03:21]
09. Mimi [03:20]
10. Love Ritual [04:20]
11. Rhymes [03:34]
12. Could I Be The One? [04:07]
13. L-O-V-E (Love) [03:08]
14. Strong As Death (Sweet As Love) [04:21]
15. Oh Me, Oh My (Dreams In My Arms) [02:48]
16. I Gotta Be More (Take Me Higher) [02:45]
17. Eli's Game [04:55]
18. Love Ritual (Remix) [04:17]
Disk Four (Soul)
01. Full Of Fire [05:12]
02. I'd Fly Away [04:11]
03. That's The Way It Is [03:41]
04. Together Again [05:20]
05. Let It Shine [03:14]
06. Have A Good Time [03:36]
07. Keep Me Cryin' [03:07]
08. Nothing Takes The Place Of You [04:35]
09. I Tried To Tell Myself [03:25]
10. The Truth Marches On [02:41]
11. Belle [04:49]
12. Georgia Boy [07:00]
13. Chariots Of Fire [03:49]
14. Loving You [03:34]
15. All In All [03:38]
16. To Sir With Love [04:06]
17. Wait Here [02:43]
18. King Of All [02:21]
19. Starting All Over Again [03:29]

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Al Green - The Immortal Soul Of Al Green Box Set (2004)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018