Edwin Birdsong - What It Is (1971)

Edwin Birdsong - What It Is (1971)

  • Genre: Music, Soul, Funk, R&B
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1859 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Edwin Birdsong
Title Of Album: What It Is
Year Of Release: 1971
Label (Catalog#): Polydor [24-4071]
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps
Time: 38:32 min
Full Size: 102 mb
Edwin Birdsong's brilliant if deeply idiosyncratic cosmic jazz-funk opus What It Is emerges from the same mindspace that birthed frequent collaborator Roy Ayers' concurrent Polydor dates. While more political than Ayers -- dig "The Uncle Tom Game" and "It Ain't No Fun Being a Welfare Recipient" -- Birdsong is also less grounded in reality, and weird-beard groovers like the club classic "Pretty Brown Skin" and "Mongoose" seem to originate from a different plane altogether. Moreover, Birdsong embraces the spiritual dimension of his vision with true-believer fervor, yielding compositions like "My Father Preaches That God Is the Father" and "When a Newborn Baby Is Born, The World Gets One More Chance." What It Is is a deeply personal statement of uncommon sincerity and scope -- there's nothing else quite like it.
1. The Uncle Tom Game 2:47
2. The Spirit Of Do…Do 3:18
3. My Father Preaches That God Is The Father 3:39
4. It Ain't No Fun Being A Welfare Recipient 3:51
5. When A Newborn Baby Is Born, The World Gets One More Chance 4:12
6. Mr. Money Man 3:44
7. Moongoose 4:10
8. The Old Messiah 3:54
9. Pretty Brown Skin 2:28
10. It's Hard To Move When It's Your Move 2:48
11. God's Home 3:55

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Edwin Birdsong - What It Is (1971)
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018