Jon Lord The Hoochie Coochie Men - Live At The Basement 3 CD (2008)

Jon Lord The Hoochie Coochie Men - Live At The Basement 3 CD (2008)

Artist: Jon Lord & The Hoochie Coochie Men
Title Of Album: Live At The Basement
Year Of Release: 2008
Label: EMI
Genre: Blues/Rock
Quality: FLAC (Image+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 02:46:27 min
Total Size: 1,1 Gb
Recorded live at The Basement, Sydney, Australia on 7th February 2003, ex-Deep Purple keyboard player and legend Jon Lord treats us to a lavish selection of blues classics. Taking on both acoustic and electric blues, it's mainly the Australian Hoochie Coochie Men who do the job whilst Lord adds his unique Hammond playing to the songs. When one says blues there's mainly a harmonica there, which here is played in a very warm way by Jim Conway. Legendary artists such as Little Walter, Muddy Waters, Elmore James, Jimmy Smith and Willie Dixon all see some of their compositions treated with utmost respect. This kind of material most certainly wouldn't fare well when played in front of a large capacity. Instead the intimacy of the Basement club adds to the originality and bluesy nature of the songs.
Some well-known songs on display here are "Green Onions," as made immortal by Booker T; "Strange Brew," originally written and recorded by Cream; and "Dallas" by Johnny Winter. Although personally I would've loved to hear some well-known Purple classics given the blues treatment, only "When A Blind Man Cries" is offered here. None other than ex-Cold Chisel singer Jimmy Barnes steps in as a guest singer, here adding his distinctive voice to the whole. During the intro for "Back At The Chicken Shack," Lord attacks his organ in the same vein as during the intro for Purple's "Lazy," but instead of delivering all of the Purple classic, he settles for the Jimmy Smith original instead. As happens with these kind of semi-improvised gigs, the crowd wants more but the setlist has been fully played. Instead of playing the same song twice, the band there and then decides to improvise and see how it goes. The endresult is "12 Bar Blow Jam," the only song credited to Barnes/Gaze/Lord/Daisley/Grosser. In the end, it sounds like the audience and the band alike had a wonderful evening resulting in a unique collaboration, and documents the very first time Jon Lord has played the blues since before founding Deep Purple.
01. (00:02:04) Introduction
02. (00:03:09) Hideaway
03. (00:03:30) Lonesome Traveller Blues
04. (00:06:19) Blues With A Feeling
05. (00:06:52) You Got Good Business
06. (00:07:50) Green Onions
07. (00:05:05) 24/7 Blues
08. (00:03:59) Baby Please Don't Go
09. (00:03:12) The Money Doesn't Matter
10. (00:03:38) Strange Brew
11. (00:04:40) Dallas
12. (00:05:52) I Just Wanna Make Love To You
13. (00:05:53) You Need Love
01. (00:08:21) The Hoochie Coochie Man
02. (00:04:22) New Old Lady Blues
03. (00:07:08) Who's Been Talkin'
04. (00:05:45) Six Strings Down
05. (00:05:19) Dust My Broom
06. (00:09:27) Back at the Chicken Shack
07. (00:06:48) When a Blindman Cries
08. (00:06:24) 12 Bar Blow Jam
09. (00:08:29) When a Blindman Cries (single edit)
01. (00:05:29) Jon Lord Interview by Phillip Kafcaloudes
02. (00:05:01) Jon Lord Interview by Derek Guille
03. (00:07:00) Green Onions (Melbourne rehearsal)
04. (00:07:29) Chicken Shack (first Hoochie Coochie Men gig in Melbourne)
05. (00:04:11) 24/7 (live at Fat TV)
06. (00:06:47) Who's been talkin' (live at Fat TV)
07. (00:06:37) If this ain't the blues (demo)
08. (00:04:37) The Hoochie Coochie Men (demo)

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Jon Lord The Hoochie Coochie Men - Live At The Basement 3 CD (2008)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018