VA - Brent: Superb 60s Soul Sounds (2014)

VA - Brent: Superb 60s Soul Sounds (2014)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Brent: Superb 60s Soul Sounds
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: KENT
Genre: R&B/Soul, Funk
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 58:06 min
Total Size: 133 / 233 MB
01. Dave Crawford / Praying For The Rain To Come
02. June Jackson & The Jackaels / Port Of Happiness
03. Jeannie Trevor / You Did It Before aka You Did It For Me
04. Julius Wright / I Pray That Things Will Change
05. The Moovers / One Little Dance
06. Brenton Wood / I Want Love
07. The Moovers / I Love You, Baby
08. Ronnie White / Begging You
09. Clyde Wilson / Go To Him
10. Marva Josie / Later For You, Baby
11. Laura Johnson / Wondering If You Miss Me
12. Carl Lester & The Show Stoppers / Don't You Know That I Believe
13. Lewis Clark / I Need You, Baby
14. Linda Lyndell / Pretty Boy
15. The Lovells / Here Comes The Heartaches
16. Dave Crawford / Millionaire
17. Clarence Hill / A Lot Of Lovin' Goin' Round
18. Brenton Wood / Cross The Bridge
19. Jeannie Trevor / Tinklin' Bells
20. Linda Lyndell / My Man, He's A Loving Man
21. Ronnie White / Got To Give You Up
22. Marvel Harrell / Don't Play With My Heart
23. Varetta & The Thomases / Fly By Night
24. Bertha Tillman / Someone (Who Needs You Like I Do)
Independent record label owner Bob Shad had several labels from the late 50s to the mid-70s, Brent being the one chosen for the issue of most of his 60s soul output. His recordings on this CD came from five cities: Miami - The opening Dave Crawford track is a stunning mid-tempo soul opus with female vocal group virtually sharing lead duties, but has only ever been witnessed on the master tape box. The flip Millionaire came out on both sides of a promo but a regular copy has never been seen, heard or logged. Crawford was to become a king-pin in the Miami soul sound of the 70s, working with the Lovells whose Here Come The Heartaches was an early Northern Soul scene hit. He took Linda Lyndell to Stax in 1968 having recorded her on Pretty Boy and My Man He's A Loving Man for Brent. Phoenix - Mike Lenaburg of Phoenix, Arizona had two productions released on Brent and Ronnie White's Begging You was the label's swansong, a pleading southern soul ballad. Detroit - Shad was based in Manhattan but issued music from any happening area and was one of the first to venture into Detroit soul. Releases from Marva Josie and Laura Johnson came from the Correc Tone studios; highly sought-after records being exceptionally well written, produced and sung. Los Angeles - Los Angeles was a major source of material for the label. Male singer- songwriter June Jackson cut two sides with his group the Jackaels. The mid-tempo big beat ballad Port Of Happiness is the best find of this genre in the last decade. Brenton Wood recorded four sides for Brent, spread out over three singles. For the first time in stereo we present the mid-tempo dancer Cross The Bridge and I Want Love - the prototype for his soul balladry, beloved of the southern Californian Hispanics. Clarence Hill's in-demand A Lot Of Lovin Goin Round is reminiscent of Sam Cooke. New York - Shad's home base, where two unissued dance tracks by jazz singer Jeannie aka Jeanne Trevor were made. Tinklin Bells is a forceful black version of the Johnny Payne popcorn classic and You Did It Before is another big city production. Mystery singer, Julius Wright, recorded the haunting dancer I Pray That Things Will Change in New York, unheard until now.

Alternative download links


Related MP3 FLAC to VA - Brent: Superb 60s Soul Sounds (2014)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018