Christian McBride, Nicholas Payton, Mark Whitfield - Fingerpainting (1997) (LOSSLESS MP3)

Christian McBride, Nicholas Payton, Mark Whitfield - Fingerpainting (1997) (LOSSLESS MP3)

  • Genre: Music, Jazz, FLAC / APE
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1561 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Christian McBride, Nicholas Payton, Mark Whitfield
Title Of Album: Fingerpainting
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Verve
Genre: Jazz, Neo-Bop, Post-Bop
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)/MP3
Bitrate: lossless/320kbps
Total Time: 66:40min
Total Size: 361 mb/163 mb
This is a rather unusual tribute to Herbie Hancock on a couple different levels. There is no piano on the date, so obviously no one is heard trying to sound like Hancock; the intimate all-star trio (bassist Christian McBride, trumpeter Nicholas Payton and guitarist Mark Whitfield) avoids such typical Hancock hits as "Watermelon Man" and "Maiden Voyage," and several of the songs are real obscurities. The 14 Hancock compositions date from 1962-79, with one tune from 1985, so they do not cover his later output. Among the lesser-known tunes are the title track (first played by V.S.O.P.), "Sly" (from the Headhunters LP), and two melodies taken from the 1965 soundtrack of Blow-Up. Several of the songs (most notably "Driftin'") deserve to be revived more widely. Payton, whose versatility has in the past allowed him to emulate both Louis Armstrong and Freddie Hubbard with equal skill, here generally plays like himself, a Young Lion with a warm tone and an inventive style. Whitfield holds the group together, whether playing straight-ahead or adding a bit of funk to "Chameleon" and "Sly." McBride shows throughout why he is rightfully considered a young giant. Due to the many unfamiliar themes and offbeat instrumentation (which includes a duet apiece featuring each of the three possible combinations), this is a CD that takes a few listens to fully appreciate, but it is worth the effort. An underrated gem.
01. Fingerpainting - 5:57
02. Driftin' - 4:29
03. Chameleon - 5:04
04. Tell Me a Bedtime Story - 4:44
05. The Eye of the Hurricane - 3:36
06. The Kiss - 5:33
07. Speak Like a Child - 6:39
08. The Sorcerer - 4:42
09. Dolphin Dance - 3:53
10. Chan's Song - 4:08
11. One Finger Snap - 4:01
12. Sly - 3:54
13. Oliloqui Valley - 5:57
14. Jane's Theme - 4:04
Christian McBride - Bass
Nicholas Payton - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Mark Whitfield - Acoustic & Electric Guitars

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Christian McBride, Nicholas Payton, Mark Whitfield - Fingerpainting (1997) (LOSSLESS MP3)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018