The Honeys - The Honeys Collection (2001)

The Honeys - The Honeys Collection (2001)

Artist: The Honeys
Title: The Honeys Collection
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Collectors' Choice Music [CCM-163-2]
Genre: Brill Building Pop, Surf Pop Rock
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks + log)
Total Time: 61:36 min
Total Size: 148 mb / 384 mb

Fans of the Beach Boys will definitely be interested in this collection from the Honeys, a girl group trio including Brian Wilson's wife Marilyn, plus her sister Diane, and their cousin. Signed to Capitol, thanks to Wilson, most of the Honeys sessions were supervised by Wilson himself, occasionally with Capitol's in-house producer Nik Venet. The Honeys Collection brings together 26 tracks covering the group's early- to mid-'60s singles (and several backing vocal dates on records by other artists), plus two tracks from a 1983 comeback LP. The first phase of the Honeys was as a surf group ("honeys" was a term used either for female surfers or the girlfriends of male surfers), and their first single, "Surfin' Down the Swanee River," was produced by Brian Wilson from an idea for a novelty take-off on the folk classic "Swanee River." Fortunately, the group soon moved on from surf novelties to embrace the classic girl group sound of Phil Spector -- a big influence on Wilson professionally -- and the bulk of the Honeys' best material is in this grandiose vein, high-drama songs like "Raindrops," "The One You Can't Have," and "He's a Doll." Besides the value for Beach Boys fans, the solid production muscle behind the trio results in some great examples of '60s girl group pop. The compilers also added several tracks with backing vocals by the Honeys, including the early Glen Campbell gem "Guess I'm Dumb," written and produced by Wilson himself. ~ John Bush, All Music Guide
01. The Honeys / Shoot The Curl 02:20
02. The Honeys / Surfin' Down The Swanee River 02:12
03. The Honeys / Raindrops 02:14
04. The Honeys / From Jimmy With Tears 02:36
05. The Honeys / Pray For Surf 02:16
06. The Honeys / (Oly Oxen Free Free Free) Hide Go Seek 01:46
07. Gary Usher & The Usherettes / Three Surfer Boys 02:06
08. The Honeys / The One You Can't Have 01:55
09. The Honeys / In The Still Of The Night 02:38
10. The Honeys / Love On The Run 01:53
11. The Surfaris / I Want To Take A Trip To The Islands 01:38
12. The Honeys / Darlin' I'm Not Steppin' Out On You 02:12
13. The Honeys / He's A Doll 02:08
14. The Honeys / The Love Of A Boy And Girl 02:12
15. Gary Usher / Sacramento 02:01
16. Glen Campbell / Guess I'm Dumb 02:43
17. The Honeys / No Bobby No 01:50
18. The Honeys / It's The Thought That Counts 02:29
19. The Honeys / I Love You Much Too Much 02:48
20. Ginger & The Snaps / Seven Days In September 02:13
21. Ginger & The Snaps / Growing Up Is Hard To Do 02:46
22. The Honeys / Come To Me 02:25
23. The Honeys / (Let's Take A) Holiday 03:03
24. The Honeys / Goodnight My Love (Pleasant Dream) 02:53
25. The Honeys / Running Away From Love 03:05
26. The Honeys / Girls Are Vicious 03:14
| |
cbr 320 kbps
| |

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to The Honeys - The Honeys Collection (2001)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018