Thompson Twins - Original Album Classics (2012)

Thompson Twins - Original Album Classics (2012)

  • Genre: Music, Pop, Electronic
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1407 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Thompson Twins
Title Of Album: Original Album Classics
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Sony
Genre: Electronic, Synthpop, New Wave
Format: Mp3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 207:07 Min
Total Size: 502 Mb
This budget-minded box, part of the extensive Original Album Classics series, contains the five Arista-label albums by Thompson Twins: Set , Quick Step & Side Kick , Into the Gap , Here's to Future Days , and Close to the Bone . The discs, as they were originally released, are in standard jewel cases and are fit into a simple cardboard sleeve that leaves much to be desired from a design standpoint. However, these sets are priced to move, and five albums for the price of (roughly) two standard-price albums provides a convenient way to obtain a majority of the group's discography in one shot.
CD 1
01 - Thompson Twins - In The Name Of Love (03:55)
02 - Thompson Twins - Living In Europe (03:31)
03 - Thompson Twins - Bouncing (02:36)
04 - Thompson Twins - Tok Tok (02:31)
05 - Thompson Twins - Good Gosh (03:10)
06 - Thompson Twins - The Rowe (06:33)
07 - Thompson Twins - Runaway (03:34)
08 - Thompson Twins - Another Fantasy (04:02)
09 - Thompson Twins - Fool's Gold (03:25)
10 - Thompson Twins - Crazy Dog (03:49)
11 - Thompson Twins - Blind (04:54)
CD 2
01 - Thompson Twins - Love On Your Side (03:59)
02 - Thompson Twins - Lies (03:11)
03 - Thompson Twins - If You Were Here (02:56)
04 - Thompson Twins - Judy Do (03:47)
05 - Thompson Twins - Tears (05:03)
06 - Thompson Twins - Watching (03:58)
07 - Thompson Twins - We Are Detective (03:03)
08 - Thompson Twins - Kamikaze (03:56)
09 - Thompson Twins - Love Lies Bleeding (02:49)
10 - Thompson Twins - All Fall Out (05:28)
CD 3
01 - Thompson Twins - Doctor! Doctor! (04:39)
02 - Thompson Twins - You Take Me Up (04:27)
03 - Thompson Twins - Hold Me Now (04:47)
04 - Thompson Twins - Day After Day (03:50)
05 - Thompson Twins - No Peace For The Wicked (04:10)
06 - Thompson Twins - The Gap (04:44)
07 - Thompson Twins - Sister Of Mercy (05:09)
08 - Thompson Twins - Storm On The Sea (05:33)
09 - Thompson Twins - Who Can Stop The Rain (05:17)
CD 4
01 - Thompson Twins - Don't Mess With Doctor Dream (04:25)
02 - Thompson Twins - Lay Your Hands On Me (04:21)
03 - Thompson Twins - Future Days (03:01)
04 - Thompson Twins - You Killed The Clown (04:53)
05 - Thompson Twins - Revolution (04:06)
06 - Thompson Twins - King For A Day (05:18)
07 - Thompson Twins - Love Is The Law (04:44)
08 - Thompson Twins - Emperor's Clothes (Part 1) (04:46)
09 - Thompson Twins - Tokyo (03:41)
10 - Thompson Twins - Breakaway (03:36)
CD 5
01 - Thompson Twins - Follow Your Heart (03:54)
02 - Thompson Twins - Bush Baby (04:10)
03 - Thompson Twins - Get That Love (04:00)
04 - Thompson Twins - 20th Century (04:02)
05 - Thompson Twins - Long Goodbye (04:23)
06 - Thompson Twins - Stillwaters (03:36)
07 - Thompson Twins - Savage Moon (04:41)
08 - Thompson Twins - Gold Fever (04:04)
09 - Thompson Twins - Dancing In Your Shoes (04:26)
10 - Thompson Twins - Perfect Day (04:28)
The Thompson Twins — who were neither a duo nor related, but simply named after the Tin Tin cartoon — were one of the more popular synth pop groups of the early MTV era, scoring a handful of hits before fading away into lite-funk obscurity. While many of their contemporaries indulged in stylish variations on Roxy Music or robotic electronic funk, the Thompson Twins were more pop-oriented, even when they strayed into dance-pop. Despite their success — "Hold Me Now," "Lay Your Hands on Me," "King for a Day" all reached the U.S. Top Ten — the group was unable to successfully expand their synth pop sound and, consequently, their audience had virtually disappeared by the late '80s.
Founding member Tom Bailey was attending a teacher's college in Cheshire, England and harboring dreams of becoming a classical pianist when he met Joe Leeway, a fledgling actor, in 1977. The pair hit it off, yet Leeway wasn't part of the original incarnation of the Thompson Twins, which featured Bailey (vocals, keyboards), guitarist Pete Dodd, guitarist John Roog, and drummer Chris Bell. During the late '70s and early '80s, the band released a handful of independent singles and became fixtures on the burgeoning New Romantic scene in London before signing with Arista Records in 1981. That year, they released their debut album, A Product Of..., to little attention.
Not long after the release of A Product Of..., Bailey added his girlfriend Alannah Currie (percussion, saxophone, vocals), Joe Leeway (percussion, vocal), and former Soft Boys bassist Matthew Seligman to the group. The Thompson Twins recorded one album in this seven-piece incarnation, 1982's Set, which was released in America as In the Name of Love. The record was a bomb, and following its release, the group was trimmed to a trio — Bailey, Currie, and Leeway. The revamped Thompson Twins released Quick Step and Side Kick in 1983, and the album became a major hit in the U.K., climbing all the way to number two, as the singles "Love on Your Side" and "We Are Detective" reached the Top Ten. In America, the record was released under the truncated title Side Kicks and earned a cult following.
The Thompson Twins had their American commercial breakthrough in 1984 with Into the Gap. "Hold Me Now," the first single from the album, became a bigger hit in the U.S. than it did in the U.K., peaking at number three; it reached number four in England. Into the Gap also featured the hits "Doctor Doctor" and "You Take Me Up," and the Thompson Twins quickly followed the record in 1985 with Here's to Future Days. "Lay Your Hands on Me" became an American Top Ten hit, as did "King for a Day," but none of the singles from the record became major hits in the U.K., signaling that the group's popularity was beginning to decline. Leeway left the group in 1986, and the Thompson Twins remained a duo, releasing Close to the Bone the following year. Bailey and Currie made their romance public in 1988, when the couple had a child. That same year, they released the remix album The Best of Thompson Twins: Greatest Mixes, which was generally ignored.
By the late '80s, the Thompson Twins' audience had decreased substantially. Big Trash, their 1989 debut for Warner, produced the minor U.S. hit "Sugar Daddy," but it was overlooked in England. In 1991, they released Queer, which was ignored in both the U.S. and the U.K. In 1994, Bailey and Currie decided to form a new band, Babble, in order to explore newer electronic musics such as ambient. Working with programmer Keith Fernley, Babble released The Stone in 1994 on Reprise to little notice.

Alternative download links

Uploaded Turbobit

Related MP3 FLAC to Thompson Twins - Original Album Classics (2012)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018