Chuck Berry - Chuck Rocks (2011)

Chuck Berry - Chuck Rocks (2011)

Artist: Chuck Berry
Title Of Album: Chuck Rocks
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Bear Family Records / BCD17139
Genre: Rock, Rock‘n’Roll
Total Time: 1:20:16
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 192 mb / 397 mb
"Most of you will know the German Bear Family Records label. Since 35 years, Richard Weize and his team provide and surprise us with countless Rock'n'Roll rarities always at highest quality levels. Bill Haley, Fats Domino, Jerry Lee Lewes, ... all have been presented in huge box-sets from Bear Family, mostly containing tons of rare or previously unissued stuff.
In respect to Chuck Berry, Bear Family has been astonishingly quiet. Fred Rothwell's Long Distance Information reports on an aborted box-set once planned. The only Bear Family release listed in this site's discography is their 52-CD set Geschichte der Popmusik (Bear Family BCD16300) which contains an interview nowhere else to be found.
Therefore it's a great step forward that Bear Family recently released a Chuck Berry album. Called Chuck Berry Rocks (Bear Family BCD17139AR), this is a single, but fully packed CD.
The album comes with 32 tracks and a bit over 80 minutes of rocking Berrys. Bear Family selected the best-known and the best Rock'n'Roll numbers up to Dear Dad, organized chronologically. This can easily serve as one of the best Greatest Hits albums, even though (and goodly so) it misses the Ding-A-Ling.
I usually don't discuss Greatest Hits albums here as they are released by the dozens. I have to make an exception this time, though, out of two reasons. Reason one is the perfect sound quality of this CD. What else is to be expected from Bear Family?
The second reason which makes this new CD a nice addition to every Chuck Berry collection is the enclosed booklet. 52 pages for a single CD. No other label would provide you with such an amount of additional information accompanying the music on the CD. You can almost call this a book with enclosed CD. Bill Dahl describes each and every recording in detail, talking about the recording sessions, introducing the musicians, listing chart entries and integrating interviews. Best is the selection of photos, many from inside the recording studios and often some we haven't seen before.
All in all, this CD set is highly recommended, not only to those who look for Berry's greatest recordings, but also for all the collectors out there."
1. Maybellene
2. Thirty Days (To Come Back Home)
3. You Can't Catch Me
4. No Money Down
5. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
6. Roll Over Beethoven
7. Too Much Monkey Business
8. School Day (Ring! Ring! Goes The Bell)
9. Rock And Roll Music
10. Oh Baby Doll
11. Sweet Little Sixteen
12. Reelin' And Rockin'
13. Johnny B. Goode
14. Around And Around
15. Beautiful Delilah
16. Carol
17. Memphis, Tennessee
18. Sweet Little Rock And Roller
19. Run Rudolph Run
20. Little Queenie
21. Almost Grown
22. Back In The U.S.A.
23. Betty Jean
24. Let It Rock
25. Bye Bye Johnny
26. Jaguar And Thunderbird
27. Go-Go-Go
28. Nadine (Is It You?)
29. You Never Can Tell
30. Promised Land
31. No Particular Place To Go
32. Dear Dad
| |
:: CBR 320 kbps ::
| |

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Chuck Berry - Chuck Rocks (2011)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018