Keep On Struttin: A Tribute To The Meters 2009

Keep On Struttin: A Tribute To The Meters 2009

  • Genre: Music, Funk
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1299 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Keep On Struttin': A Tribute To The Meters
Year Of Release: 16/01/2009
Label: Le Smoke d (Groove Attack)
Genre: Funk
Quality: MP3 / Joint Stereo
Bitrate: VBR kbit/s / 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 45:59 min
Total Size: 65,7 mb
A massive tribute to The Meters - one that features rare versions of some of their best funky classics! If you dig The Meters, you'll no doubt recognize most of the tunes - but you've probably never heard them in these versions before - as most of them are pulled from the farthest reaches of the 60s and 70s funky underground! Most numbers change things up a bit in terms of instrumentation - using a guitar where you might normally hear an organ, tipping the rhythm a bit more towards one speed or another - but all of them continue strongly that chunky, gritty approach to instrumental funk the New Orleans combo first forged in the late 60s - a legacy that still lives on in lots of current work, but which sounds even fresher in these rare gems from years back. There's also a few original compositions by some of these artists, but they're all tunes that fall strongly within a classic Meters groove - and titles include "Cissy Strut" by Rod Piazza, "Flight Of The Phoenix" by Dennis The Fox, "Slot Machine" by Duke Of Burlington, "Cissy Strut" by King Herbert & The Knights, "Cardova" by Syd Jones & The Gay Troubadours, "The Cissy's Thang" by The Soul Seven, "Look Ka Py Py" by The Invaders, "Chicken Strut" by King Herbert & The Knights, "Madrox" by Big Band Katouuice, "Cissy Strut" by Sacramento Senior High School, "Big Splash" by Band It, and "Soul Heart Transplant" by Ebony Rhythm Band.
01 03:35 Syd Jones and The Gay Troubadors - Cardova
02 03:42 King Herbert and The Knights - Cissy Strut
03 02:18 Duke Of Burlington - Slot Machine
04 02:34 Trinidad Tripoli Steel Band - Cissy Strut
05 02:24 Billy Ball and The Upsetters - Sissy Walk
06 03:15 Band It - Big Splash
07 03:11 Dennis The Fox - Flight Of The Phoenix
08 04:09 Rod Piazza - Cissy Strut
09 02:53 Ebony Rhythm Band - Soul Heart Transplant
10 02:34 Joe Bravo - Cissy Strut
11 02:22 The Soul Seven - The Cissy's Thang
12 02:38 The Invaders - Look Ka Py Py
13 02:20 Los Masters - Cissy Strut
14 03:41 King Herbert and The Knights - Chicken Strut
15 03:36 Big Band Katouuice - Madrox
16 00:47 Sacramento Senior High School - Cissy Strut (Outro)

Alternative download links

Download | Download Download | Download Download | Download Download | Download

Related MP3 FLAC to Keep On Struttin: A Tribute To The Meters 2009
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018