Roscoe Mitchell - Composition Improvisation Nos.1, 2 3 (2007) (LOSSLESS mp3)

Roscoe Mitchell - Composition Improvisation Nos.1, 2 3 (2007) (LOSSLESS mp3)

  • Genre: Music, Jazz, FLAC / APE
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1843 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Roscoe Mitchell
Title Of Album: Composition Improvisation Nos.1, 2 & 3
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: ECM
Genre: Jazz, Free Jazz
Quality: FLAC (Image+.cue)/MP3
Bitrate: Lossless/320 kbps
Total Time: 01:19:11 min
Total Size: 378 mb/181 mb
Roscoe Mitchell's musical range has always stretched even beyond the elastic borders of the Art Ensemble of Chicago, and his drive to the frontier is especially evident on these 2004 performances by the Transatlantic Art Ensemble. It's a 14-piece group that includes members of Mitchell's Note Factory and fellow-saxophonist Evan Parker's Electro-Acoustic Ensemble, a virtuosic collective with trumpeter Corey Wilkes, pianist Craig Taborn, and bassist Barry Guy standing out amidst a host of strings, reeds and percussion. The group consistently blurs the lines between contemporary composition and free improvisation, whether it's with subtly layered string textures, spiky violin, the Debussy-like grace of Neil Metcalfe's flute, or a sudden burst of sustained, fluid melody. Edited from three longer pieces, the music consistently has Mitchell finding new musical ground. The long third track stands out for his take on modern jazz traditions, opening with a fractured theme that sounds like Miles Davis's Birth of the Cool reconstituted for an extraterrestrial audience, while track eight builds sustained tension with repeated and dislocated rhythmic figures, stretching control to the breaking point. --Stuart Broomer
1 I 13:36
2 II 4:07
3 III 18:35
4 IV 5:42
5 V 3:54
6 VI 3:17
7 VII 9:13
8 VIII 14:49
9 IX 5:57
Roscoe Mitchell soprano saxophone
Evan Parker tenor and soprano saxophones
Anders Svanoe alto and baritone saxophones
Corey Wilkes trumpet, flugelhorn
John Rangecroft clarinet
Neil Metcalfe flute
Nils Bultmann viola
Philipp Wachsmann violin
Marcio Mattos cello
Craig Taborn piano
Jaribu Shahid double-bass
Barry Guy double-bass
Tanni Tabbal drums, percussion
Paul Lytton drums, percussion

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Roscoe Mitchell - Composition Improvisation Nos.1, 2 3 (2007) (LOSSLESS mp3)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018