Memphis Slim His House Rockers - The Come Back ( With Matt Guitar Murphy) (2002)

Memphis Slim His House Rockers - The Come Back ( With Matt Guitar Murphy) (2002)

  • Genre: Music, Blues
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1770 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Memphis Slim & His House Rockers
Title: The Come Back ( With Matt 'Guitar' Murphy)
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Delmark Records
Genre: Piano Blues
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 55:35
Total Size: 175 MB

1. Only A Fool Has Fun (2:39)
2. The Come Back (Alternate) (2:46)
3. Shuffleboard (2:37)
4. Living The Life I Love (2:46)
5. Cool Down Baby (2:36)
6. Nat Dee Special (2:50)
7. I Love My Baby (3:06)
8. Two Of A Kind (2:40)
9. Smooth Sailin' (3:04)
10. 5 O'clock Blues (2:53)
11. Stewball (2:14)
12. The Cat Creeps (2:36)
13. Call Before You Go Home (3:09)
14. Back Alley (3:03)
15. This Is My Lucky Day (2:41)
16. The Come Back (2:46)
17. Midnight (3:02)
18. St. Louis Woman (2:53)
19. 5 O'clock Blues (Alternate) (2:54)
20. She's Alright (2:12)
Like John Lee Hooker, Memphis Slim was very much a label-hopper -- from the '40s to the '80s, it was safe to assume that the singer/pianist wouldn't stay at one label for too long. In the '50s, Slim did some of his best work for United, a Chicago-based indie whose catalog has since been acquired by Delmark (another Windy City label). Slim's United period of 1952-1954 is the focus of The Come Back, a 20-track collection that Delmark assembled in 2002. This is a blues CD that has both jazz and rock appeal. Slim, like Jimmy Witherspoon and T-Bone Walker, was always a very jazz-influenced bluesman -- his love of jazz comes through on vocal gems like "Call Before You Go Home" and "5 O'Clock Blues" as well as free-spirited, improvisation-minded instrumentals that include a previously unreleased performance of Arnett Cobb's "Smooth Sailin'." The jazz influence gave Slim's band a certain amount of urban sophistication, but not at the expense of grit -- being sophisticated and gritty at same time was never a problem for Slim. The House Rocker who does the most to give The Come Back some rock appeal is Matt "Guitar" Murphy, a tough, rugged electric guitarist who was never afraid to sweat. These 1952-1954 recordings came just before the rock & roll revolution, and Murphy was the sort of bluesman who helped pave the way for that revolution -- you can be sure that many of the British Invasion rockers who emerged in the '60s were well aware of Murphy's high-volume guitar. Collectors will be thrilled to learn that The Come Back contains 11 previously unreleased tracks, but even those who aren't hardcore collectors will find that this CD paints an exciting picture of Slim's two years at United. ~by Alex Henderson
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.
| |

Alternative download links

Uploaded Turbobit Hitfile

Related MP3 FLAC to Memphis Slim His House Rockers - The Come Back ( With Matt Guitar Murphy) (2002)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018