Glenn Gould - Bach: The Goldberg Variations (1982) (LOSSLESS)

Glenn Gould - Bach: The Goldberg Variations (1982) (LOSSLESS)

Artist: Glenn Gould
Title Of Album: Bach: The Goldberg Variations
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: CBS Records
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (Image+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 51:02 min
Total Size: 143 mb
While Glenn Gould's 1955 debut recording of Bach's Goldberg Variations has attained legendary status, there are many devoted fans who rank the 1981 recording just as highly, even though it offers a dramatically different interpretation. This album was made shortly before the pianist's premature death at age 50, so it is significant for being his last recording; indeed, the opening measures of the Aria are carved on Gould's headstone, in final recognition of the work's importance to him, so these two recordings may be regarded as bookends to the pianist's extraordinary career. Gould's tempos are slower and more measured in the 1981 performance, and the observance of some repeats here also differs from the earlier version. On the whole, the 1981 performance is reflective and carefully considered, in contrast with the technical brilliance and impulsive energy of the first. Gould's background humming is common to both Goldbergs, and even though the technology existed at the time of this recording to remove it, Gould kept it in, for fear of losing the piano's full sound. This eccentricity may be off-putting to some listeners, but there are so many fine points in Gould's playing that it must be overlooked to appreciate the true value of his playing and his understanding of Bach, which is original by any standard. Columbia's reproduction is crisp and clear, in keeping with Gould's wishes.
Goldberg Variations, for keyboard (Clavier-Übung IV), BWV 988 (BC L9)
1. Aria
2. Variation 1
3. Variation 2
4. Variation 3
5. Variation 4
6. Variation 5
7. Variation 6
8. Variation 7
9. Variation 8
10. Variation 9
11. Variation 10
12. Variation 11
13. Variation 12
14. Variation 13
15. Variation 14
16. Variation 15
17. Variation 16
18. Variation 17
19. Variation 18
20. Variation 19
21. Variation 20
22. Variation 21
23. Variation 22
24. Variation 23
25. Variation 24
26. Variation 25
27. Variation 26
28. Variation 27
29. Variation 28
30. Variation 29
31. Variation 30
32. Aria

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Glenn Gould - Bach: The Goldberg Variations (1982) (LOSSLESS)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018