Roseanna Vitro - Catchin Some Rays: The Music of Ray Charles (1997)

Roseanna Vitro - Catchin Some Rays: The Music of Ray Charles (1997)

  • Genre: Music, Jazz, Vocal Jazz
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1656 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Roseanna Vitro
Title Of Album: Catchin' Some Rays: The Music of Ray Charles
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Telarc Jazz Zone
Genre: Female Vocal Jazz
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:00:54
Total Size: 146 MB (3% rec.)
Roseanna Vitro is a very talented and versatile singer, as she proves throughout this highly enjoyable set. Vitro performs 14 songs (including a pair of two-song medleys) associated with Ray Charles. Although jazz has long been only a small part of Charles' music, the tunes are transformed into swinging and soulful jazz by Vitro.
The instrumentation changes throughout the date, but often features pianist Ken Werner (who duets with the singer on a medley of "You Don't Know Me" and "Ruby"), trumpeter Eddie Henderson, and tenorman David "Fathead" Newman, among others; some of the songs utilize a larger than usual band.
Highlights include "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin'," a swinging "One Mint Julep," "I Don't Need No Doctor" and "Lonely Avenue." Thankfully, Roseanna Vitro avoids many of Brother Ray's best-known hits (including "Georgia On My Mind") in favor of songs better suited to her style and to this setting.
1. Unchain My Heart [05:27]
2. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin' [05:22]
3. One Mint Julip [04:40]
4. Night time Is The Right Time / But, On the Other Hand [06:28]
5. Them That's Got [06:17]
6. I Don't Need No Doctor [04:41]
7. Tell Me You'll Wait For Me [05:16]
8. Sticks and Stones [04:09]
9. The Danger Zone [05:25]
10. Roll With My Baby [03:05]
11. Lonely Avenue [03:43]
12. You Don't Know Me / Ruby [06:21]
Total time 01:00:54

Alternative download links

Download Download

Related MP3 FLAC to Roseanna Vitro - Catchin Some Rays: The Music of Ray Charles (1997)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018