Nine Below Zero - Third Degree 2CD (2014)

Nine Below Zero - Third Degree 2CD (2014)

  • Genre: Music, Blues, Rock
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1753 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Nine Below Zero
Title Of Album: Third Degree
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Universal
Genre: Blues Rock, Rock
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 36:22+31:23
Total Size: 171 Mb
Covers: Full
CD 1: Original Third Degree
01. Eleven Plus Eleven (2:21)
02. Wipe Away Your Kiss (2:51)
03. Why Can't We Be What We Want To Be (2:54)
04. Tearful Eye (3:40)
05. True Love Is A Crime (3:17)
06. Egg On My Face (3:23)
07. Sugarbeat (And Rhythm Sweet) (4:12)
08. Mystery Man (4:03)
09. Easy Street SE17 (3:15)
10. You Don't Love Me (3:07)
11. You Can't Say Yes and You Can't Say No (3:13)
CD 2: Alternate Version
01. Eleven Plus Eleven (2:13)
02. True Love Is A Crime (3:07)
03. Easy Street SE17 (3:21)
04. Why Don't You Try Me Tonight (3:25)
05. Mama Talk To Your Daughter (2:51)
06. Tearful Eye (3:19)
07. Johnnie Weekend (3:13)
08. Sugarbeat (And Rhythm Sweet) (3:47)
09. Egg On My Face (2:53)
10. You Can't Say Yes and You Can't Say No (3:09)
London blues rock band Nine Below Zero have toured with the Who and The Kinks, cited as influences for some of today’s new bands and still have a devotional live following (soon to be drawn on again as support for the Stranglers tour which has just kicked off). So hot on the heels of last year’s remastered live album At the Marquee comes a double re-release of Nine Below Zeros first two studio albums “Don’t Point Your Finger” and “Third Degree”. Both albums have been remastered and come packaged with some interesting bonus material, so an ideal time to revisit these recordings some 30 something years on.
First up is “Don’t Point Your Finger” originally released in 1981 and produced by Stones, Zeppelin and Who producer Glyn Johns. More a consistently blues rock album than the second studio album the remastered version sounds great with the guitars and vocals of Dennis Greaves sounding multi – layered against Peter Clarks driving bass. It’s also a consistently good blues album. “One Way Street” is vibrant opener followed by the rolling blues and guitars of “Doghouse”. “Liquor Lover” has the pounding beat and breathless delivery of a great live drinking song, whilst the cool bass and 60’s pop beat “Treat Her Right” wouldn’t sound out of place in a Tarantino dance scene. A slightly redundant cover of Rockin’ Robin is the only real weakness on what is otherwise an extremely worthwhile addition to any record collection. The album also includes a live concert from Radio 1 at recorded at The Granary in Bristol in 1981.
“The Third Degree” is a bit more of a diverse offering. Released one year later there is much more of a nod towards the mod revivalist label attached at the time. Fans of The Jam will enjoy lead single “11+11”, “You Can’t Say Yes and You Can’t Say No” and the Start echoing “Wipe Away Your Kiss”. There is also further diversion from the earlier blues sound with the more electronic sweeps of “Mystery Man” and the ska infused “East Street SE17” whilst “Why Can’t We Be What We Want To Be” sits nicely in the new wave sound of the early 80’s. Interestingly the album was originally produced again by Glyn John but was rejected by A&M and then fully re-recorded and released after switching production to Simon Boswell. Both versions of the album are included in this release and there are pros and cons to both versions – “11+11” sounding a little more immediate under Johns' production and “Egg on my Face” better still. Balanced against the more polished production of Boswell it’s one to debate for the listener. (JG)

Alternative download links

Uploaded Turbobit

Related MP3 FLAC to Nine Below Zero - Third Degree 2CD (2014)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018