Small Faces - Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (Deluxe Edition) (2012)

Small Faces - Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (Deluxe Edition) (2012)

  • Genre: Music, Rock
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1302 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Small Faces
Title Of Album: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Deluxe Edition)
Year Of Release: 2012
Genre: Pop/Rock
Label: Sanctuary
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 117:28
Total Size: 282 MB
1. Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake (Mono) (2:33)
2. Afterglow Of Your Love (Mono) (3:30)
3. Long Agos And Worlds Apart (Mono) (2:34)
4. Rene (Mono) (3:59)
5. Song Of A Baker (Mono) (3:10)
6. Lazy Sunday (Mono) (3:01)
7. Happiness Stan (Mono) (3:38)
8. Rollin’ Over (Mono) (2:14)
9. The Hungry Intruder (Mono) (2:15)
10. The Journey (Mono) (4:04)
11. Mad John (Mono) (4:20)
12. Happydaystoytown (Mono) (2:58)
1. Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake (Early Session Version - Mono) (2:49)
2. Afterglow Of Your Love (Alternate Usa Mix - Stereo) (3:00)
3. Long Agos And Worlds Apart (Alternate Usa Mix - Stereo) (2:33)
4. Rene, The Dockers' Delight (Early Session Mix - Stereo) (4:27)
5. Song Of A Baker (Alternate Usa Mix - Stereo) (2:58)
6. Lazy Sunday (Alternate Usa Mix - Stereo) (3:03)
7. Happiness Stan (Backing Track - Mono) (2:36)
8. Bun In The Oven (Early Session Mix - Mono) (2:10)
9. The Fly (Take 4 - Instrumental Version - Stereo) (2:00)
10. Mad John (Take 7 - Early Session Version - Stereo) (2:21)
11. Happydaystoytown (Alternate Usa Mix - Stereo) (4:17)
12. Kamikhazi (2:15)
13. Every Little Bit Hurts (Early Session Mix - Mono) (3:55)
14. Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake (Alternate Take - Phased Mix - Stereo) (2:25)
1. Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake (Stereo) (2:25)
2. Afterglow Of Your Love (Stereo) (3:29)
3. Long Agos And Worlds Apart (Stereo) (2:33)
4. Rene (Stereo) (4:28)
5. Song Of A Baker (Stereo) (3:13)
6. Lazy Sunday (Stereo) (3:05)
7. Happiness Stan (Stereo) (3:33)
8. Rollin’ Over (Stereo) (1:53)
9. The Hungry Intruder (Stereo) (2:13)
10. The Journey (Stereo) (4:12)
11. Mad John (Stereo) (4:13)
12. Happydaystoytown (Stereo) (2:50)
CD Description
The two-act concept album consisted of six original songs on side one and a whimsical psychedelic fairy tale on side two relating the adventures of Happiness Stan. It is a seminal album and has appeared in All Time Greatest album polls by the likes of Q and NME and appeared in Mojo s Hall of Fame . The Guardian described it as a groundbreaker, but not just because of its circular sleeve or its psychedelic concept - it was more far-out than that: by unleashing such a split-personality array of songs, such as Lazy Sunday, Rollin' Over, Afterglow, Rene and Happydaystoytown, the Small Faces left listeners at the very crossroads of rock and pop .
The surviving members Kenney Jones and Ian McLagan have overseen the remastering of this double disc album. The second disc features rare outtakes, versions and mixes and the new booklet features sleevenotes by respected music writer Mark Paytress
BBC Review
Manor Park's Small Faces began life as puppets to an industry still riddled by svangali-like figures keen to exploit the production line model for pop music production. Yet following two years of mod-friendly, peerless power pop/soul for Decca and scary manager, Don Arden (father of Sharon Osbourne), Steve Marriott, Ronnie Lane et al finally escaped to a label that at least understood how to nurture a band's creativity.
Cementing their psychedelic credentials in the summer of 1967 with 'Itchycoo Park' on Andrew Loog Oldham's Immediate label - a prime example of their hallucinogenic cockernee schtick - it was time to show that they could really think in terms of whole albums as opposed to snippets of three-minute glory. The result? Ogden's Nut Gone Flake.
Housed in the world's first circular album sleeve, it was split into two distinct sides. Ogden's' first half consists of six tightly buzzing slices of the psychedelic r 'n' b that was now their stock in trade. Mainly penned by Marriott and Lane the fare divides itself between punchy blue-eyed soul stompers like ''Afterglow (Of Your Love)'' and more chirpy psych knees ups like ''Lazy Sunday'' (inspired by Marriott's feuds with his neighbours).
The second side contains the story of Happiness Stan and his quest to find the moon, interlinked by forgotten master of gobbledegook, Stanley Unwin. Here the songs are considerably more embellished and varied in texture; from the strange faux-folksy 'Mad John' to the more rocking 'Rollin' Over'. The latter featured a brass section while the rest included strings, harps and all the usual trappings expected of bands who wished to signal their serious musical intent. But somehow at the heart of it all was the Small Faces' muscular approach that makes Ogden's certainly the least fey of all English psychedelic classics. This was to be the template for both Marriots' later band Humble Pie and Lane, Ian Maclagan and Kenney Jones' next career move with Rod Stewart and Ronnie Wood in the Faces.
Sadly, despite one complete airing on British TV (Colour Me Pop) Ogden's was never to be performed live due, in part, to its complexity. Dispirited by an inability to build on its success (six weeks at number one in 1968), and annoyance that the one hit from the album was the unauthorised release of 'Lazy Sunday' the group finally caved in. In the same way as their contemporaries, the Zombies (with Odessey and Oracle), their masterpiece was their swansong and like that album it remains a pinnacle of British 60s pop. --Chris Jones

Alternative download links

Uploaded Turbobit

Related MP3 FLAC to Small Faces - Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (Deluxe Edition) (2012)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018