Kronos Quartet - A Thousand Thoughts (2014)

Kronos Quartet - A Thousand Thoughts (2014)

Artist: Kronos Quartet
Title Of Album: A Thousand Thoughts
Year Of Release: April 8, 2014
Label: Nonesuch Records
Genre: Classical, Contemporary, Modern Composition
Quality: MP3 | FLAC (tracks+.cue,log)
Bitrate: 320 kbps | lossless
Total Time: 73:36 Min
Total Size: ~176 Mb |~388 Mb
01. Tusen Tankar (4:30)
02. Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground (3:55)
03. La Sidounak Sayyada (4:29)
04. Lưu Thủy Trường (4:33)
05. Aha Gèdawo (5:11)
06. An Buachaillín Bán (6:02)
07. The Round Sun and Crescent Moon in the Sky (2:15)
08. Eviç Taksim (5:28)
09. Rangin Kaman (excerpt) (4:47)
10. Smyrneiko Minore (3:32)
11. Cry of a Lady (5:13)
12. Sim Sholom (4:47)
13. Mera Kuchh Saaman (6:54)
14. Asleep (from Five Tango Sensations) (5:27)
15. Danny Boy (7:14)
"A Thousand Thoughts" looks at the Kronos Quartet’s geographically wide-ranging sources, featuring music from 14 different countries. This album is one of two releases by Nonesuch, the other being the 5 CD set "The Kronos Explorer Series," a box set of five classic albums from five different parts of the world. Both albums are in celebration of the Kronos Quartet, long known as interpreters of music from around the world, in its 40th anniversary year.
Kronos Quartet and its artistic director/founding violinist David Harrington have long been known as interpreters of music from around the world, expanding the string quartet repertoire with works from across genres. Nonesuch, the Quartet’s longtime label, celebrates this remarkable curiosity in the group’s 40th anniversary year with two releases: the Kronos Explorer Series five-CD box set and a new album, A Thousand Thoughts, both of which will be available on April 8, 2014 (international release to follow April 21).
A Thousand Thoughts is a look at Kronos’ geographically wide-ranging sources. It features music from 14 different countries, including China, India, Sweden, and Vietnam. The album includes the four cellists who have been in Kronos Quartet over the last 36 years: Joan Jeanrenaud (1978–1999), Jennifer Culp (1999–2005), Jeffrey Zeigler (2005–2013), and Sunny Yang (2013–present). Ten of the album’s 15 pieces are previously unreleased.
For 40 years, the Kronos Quartet—David Harrington, John Sherba (violins), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello)—has pursued a singular artistic vision, combining a spirit of exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the most celebrated and influential groups of our time, performing thousands of concerts worldwide, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with many of the world’s most accomplished composers and performers, and commissioning more than 800 works and arrangements for string quartet. In 2011, Kronos became the only recipients of both the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize, two of the most prestigious awards given to musicians. The group’s numerous awards also include a Grammy for Best Chamber Music Performance and Musicians of the Year from Musical America.

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Kronos Quartet - A Thousand Thoughts (2014)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018