VA - Ian Levines Solid Stax Sensations (2015)

VA - Ian Levines Solid Stax Sensations (2015)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Ian Levine's Solid Stax Sensations
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Kent
Genre: R&B, Soul
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 72:50 min
Total Size: 167 / 375 MB
01. Bobby Whitlock / And I Love You
02. The Rance Allen Group / Ain't No Need Of Crying
03. Charlene & The Soul Serenaders / Can You Win
04. Joni Wilson / (Let Hurt Put You In The) Loser's Seat
05. Roz Ryan / You're My Only Temptation
06. Collette Kelly / City Of Fools
07. Annette Thomas / Hang On
08. Proud As Punch / If You Look Into My Eyes
09. The Stingers / I Refuse To Be Lonely
10. William Bell / The Man In The Street
11. The T.S.U. Toronadoes / I Still Love You
12. Reggie Milner / Habit Forming Love
13. Sylvia & The Blue Jays / Put Me In The Mood
14. Ilana / Where Would You Be Today
15. Paul Thompson / Special Kind Of Woman
16. Margie Joseph / One More Chance
17. The Dramatics / Your Love Was Strange
18. The Cheques / Cool My Desire
19. Barbara Lewis / The Stars
20. The Newcomers / The Whole World's A Picture Show
21. The Rance Allen Group / I Know A Man Who
22. John Gary Williams / The Whole Damn World Is Going Crazy
23. Major Lance / Since I Lost My Baby's Love
24. David Porter / If I Give It Up, I Want It Back
25. The Rance Allen Group / Gonna Make It Alright
DJ and record producer Ian Levine was one of the prime movers in establishing Northern Soul as a youth cult in the UK in the early to mid-70s. His sets at Blackpool Mecca's Highland Rooms were innovative and he was at the forefront of the scene's musical development through the 70s. His Solid Soul Sensations for Pye Records in 1975 set a benchmark for Northern Soul LPs and was a major seller. Ian has applied that knowledge and taste to Stax's highly esteemed catalogue of recordings and chosen 25 superb soul songs aimed primarily for the dancers. Big spins from the 70s such as Barbara Lewis The Stars and Margie Joseph's One More Chance have been combined with floor-fillers from today including Charlene & The Soul Serenaders Can You Win and (Let Hurt Put You In The) Loser's Seat by Joni Wilson (under the guidance of George Clinton). Although he concentrated on producing in the 80s and 90s, Ian already knew many of the big Stax sounds, such as Paul Thompson's Special Kind Of Woman and Ilana's Where Would You Be Today through his own impressive Stax collection. Inevitably Ian has come up with some leftfield numbers from Proud As Punch, the Cheques and Bobby Whitlock and there is a super vault discovery from Sylvia & The Blue Jays. The major players are covered with tracks from David Porter, Rance Allen, the Dramatics, William Bell and Northern Soul's first superstar, Major Lance.

Alternative download links


Related MP3 FLAC to VA - Ian Levines Solid Stax Sensations (2015)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018