VA - Verve Remixed, Vol. 2 (2003)

VA - Verve Remixed, Vol. 2 (2003)

  • Genre: Jazz, Electronic, Dance
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1271 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Verve Remixed, Vol. 2
Year Of Release: 2003
Label: Verve Records
Genre: Jazz, Electronic/Dance
Quality: MPEG-1 layer 3, 44100Hz Joint Stereo
Bitrate: 192kbps
Total Time: 01:12:02
Total Size: 102.95 Mb
Encouraged by the success of the first Verve Remixed album, the techno-friendly souls at Verve have once again opened up their vaults to electronica artists. This time around, the Funky Lowlives kick things off with Dizzy Gillespie's "Manteca," a minimal yet urgent rendition of the classic, replete with occasional synthesizer washes and driving percussion. Felix Da Housecat gives Nina Simone a fittingly decadent house treatment on "Sinnerman," while the Gotan Project takes a more subtle accordion-driven approach on Sarah Vaughan's saucy "Whatever Lola Wants." Other standout tracks include Layo & Bushwacka's dreamy remix of Ella Fitzgerald's "Angel Eyes," Fila Brazillia's sunny version of Cal Tjader's "Soul Sauce," Dan the Automator's funky side of Willie Bobo's "Fried Neckbones and Some Home Fries," and Koop's surprisingly traditional version of Astrud Gilberto's "Here's That Rainy Day." While these re-workings are obviously dance-floor oriented, the brilliance of the original recordings always manages to shine through, making the collection appealing to both club kids and jazz fans.
01. Manteca - Dizzy Gillespie/Funky Lowlives (The Funky Lowlives remix)
02. Sinnerman - Nina Simone/Felix Da Housecat (Felix Da Housecat's Heavenly House mix)
03. Whatever Lola Wants - Sarah Vaughan/GoTan Project (Gotan Project remix)
04. Brother Where Are You? - Oscar Brown Jr./Matthew Herbert (Matthew Herbert remix)
05. Slap That Bass - Ella Fitzgerald/Miguel Migs (Miguel Migs Petalpusher remix)
06. Blues For Brother George Jackson - Archie Shepp/Mondo Grosso (Mondo Grosso Next Wave mix)
07. Angel Eyes - Ella Fitzgerald/Layo & Bushwacka (Layo & Bushwacka remix)
08. Do What You Wanna - Ramsey Lewis/Mr. Scuff (Mr Scruff's Soul Party remix)
09. Soul Sauce - Cal Tjader/Fila Brazillia (Fila Brazillia remix)
10. Fried Neckbones And Some Homefries - Willie Bobo/Dan The Automator (Dan The Automator remix)
11. Naima's Love Song - Betty Carter/DJ Spinna (DJ Spinna remix)
12. Mama - Hugh Masekela/Metro Area (Metro Area Birthday Dub)
13. Here's That Rainy Day - Astrud Gilberto/Koop (Koop remix)
14. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair - Nina Simone/Jaffa (Jaffa remix)

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to VA - Verve Remixed, Vol. 2 (2003)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018