Rahsaan Roland Kirk - Aces Back To Back (Box Set) (1998)

Rahsaan Roland Kirk - Aces Back To Back (Box Set) (1998)

Artist: Rahsaan Roland Kirk
Title: Aces Back To Back
Year Of Release: 1998
Label: 32. Jazz Records
Genre: Soul, Jazz, Funk
Quality: APE (image+.cue)
Total Time: cd1 42:52; cd2 40:07; cd3 42:14; cd4 46:56;
Total Size: 1 gb

CD1 Left & Right, 1968:
1. Black Mystery Has Been Revealed 1:16
2. Expansions 19:55
3. Lady's Blues 3:45
4. I X Love 3:38
5. Hot Cha 3:21
6. Quintessence 4:10
7. I Waited for You 2:51
8. A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing 3:55
CD2 Rahsaan Rahsaan, 1970:
9. The Seeker 17:21
10. Satin Doll 2:16
11. Introduction 1:40
12. Medley 4:50
13. Sweet Fire 6:02
14. Introduction 3:17
15. Baby Let Me Shake Your Tree 4:54
CD3 Prepare Thyself to Deal With a Miracle, 1973:
16. Salvation and Reminiscing 5:22
17. Seasons 9:37
18. Celestial Bliss 5:40
19. Saxophone Concerto 21:00
CD4 Other Folks Music, 1976:
20. Water for Robeson and Williams 3:45
21. That's All 7:38
22. Donna Lee 4:10
23. Simone 9:05
24. Anysha 8:12
25. Samba Kwa Mwanamke Mweusi 6:50
26. Arrival 7:10
Whether or not the four individual albums packaged with in Aces Back to Back are among Rahsaan Roland Kirk's finest is of no consequence. The fact that they have been assembled in a package that offers the listener a sense of Kirk's development and continuity is the issue here. And in this way, Aces Back to Back is a supreme collection. The four albums included -- Left & Right, Rahsaan Rahsaan, Prepare Thyself to Deal With a Miracle, and Other Folks Music -- date from 1969 to 1976 and chart dimensional growth of Kirk's completely original music. There's the outsider wizardry of Left & Right that melds the innovations of John Coltrane and Scott Joplin across an entire range of highly experimental yet wonderfully human music. Guests included Roy Haynes, Alice Coltrane, Julius Watkins, and many others in a band that ranged from a quartet to a full orchestra. Then there are the nine musicians who appear on Rahsaan Rahsaan, among them avant violinist Leroy Jenkins. Here, from the margins comes Kirk's preaching and poetry and also yielded the classics "The Seeker" and "Baby Let Me Shake Your Tree." The fact that they open and close the album, respectively, reveals not only Kirk's diversity, but also his commitment to a universal black music. Prepare Thyself to Deal With a Miracle is Kirk's meditation on orchestral music juxtaposed against folk and R&B forms. Form the opening "Salvation and Reminiscing," where the string section carries a monadic theme into microtonal territory, Kirk uses the "ugliness" to achieve great beauty which is fully realized when he combines a revved-up version of "Balm in Gilead" with a section of Ralph Vaughn Williams' Pastoral Symphony on "Seasons." Finally, with the issue of Others Folks Music, Kirk contributes only one composition, a beautiful meditation entitled "Water for Robeson and Williams." The rest is made up of the music of Charlie Parker ("Donna Lee"), Kirk's then pianist Hilton Ruiz ("Arrival"), Frank Foster ("Simone"), and others. This is a loose, roughneck record where Kirk uses the harmonics of others to transform his own into something that would make the music itself larger than any of its individual parts. In all for the price tag, this is a solid buy, revealing the most misunderstood innovator in the history of jazz.


Alternative download links

Download | Turbobit.net Download | Hitfile.net Download | Nitroflare.com

Related MP3 FLAC to Rahsaan Roland Kirk - Aces Back To Back (Box Set) (1998)
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018