Luciana Souza - The New Bossa Nova (2007)

Luciana Souza - The New Bossa Nova (2007)

  • Genre: Jazz
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1625 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Luciana Souza
Title Of Album: The New Bossa Nova
Year Of Release: August 13, 2007
Label: Verve
Genre: Jazz
Quality: MP3 / Joint Stereo
Bitrate: 192 kbit/s / 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 49:54 min
Total Size: 77,2 mb
01. Down to You
02. Never Die Young
03. Here It Is
04. When We Dance
05. Satellite
06. Were You Blind That Day
07. Love Is for Strangers
08. You and the Girl
09. Living Without You
10. I Can Let Go Now
11. God Only Knows
12. Waters of March
Product Description
The New Bossa Nova finds Souza applying her interpretative skills to material drawn from a diverse array of sources, including Joni Mitchell ("Down To You"), Leonard Cohen ("Here It Is"), Sting ("When We Dance"), Elliott Smith ("Satellite"), Steely Dan ("Were You Blind That Day"), Brian Wilson ("God Only Knows"), Randy Newman ("Living Without You"), Michael McDonald ("I Can Let Go Now") and legendary bossa nova master Antonio Carlos Jobim (the standard "Waters of March"), along with a pair of memorable new songs written for the project, "You and the Girl," written by Souza and producer Larry Klein, and "Love Is for Strangers," by Klein and Steely Dan's Walter Becker. The set also features a memorable guest appearance by James Taylor, who joins Souza for a soulful duet reading of the Taylor composition "Never Die Young." The New Bossa Nova marks an exciting new chapter for the Brazilian-born vocalist and three-time Grammy® nominee, who's already widely acknowledged as one of jazz's most respected and accomplished vocalists. The 11-song album finds the artist crafting a fresh and highly personal variation on the beloved bossa nova style, matching Souza's exquisite, deeply-felt performances with spare, eloquent arrangements that place the emphasis squarely on the songs' timeless emotional truths.
The album confirms Souza's reputation as both a world-class vocalist and a versatile, consistently adventurous creative force. The project is Souza's first collaboration with her husband, producer/musician Klein, whose extensive resume encompasses work with artists as diverse as Joni Mitchell, Freddie Hubbard, Peter Gabriel and Wayne Shorter. The New Bossa Nova also features a stellar cast of players including tenor saxophonist Chris Potter, guitarist Romero Lubambo, pianist Edward Simon, bassist Scott Colley, vibraphonist Matt Moran and drummer Antonio Sanchez.

Alternative download links

Download / Download

Related MP3 FLAC to Luciana Souza - The New Bossa Nova (2007)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018