Laika Fatien - Misery: A Tribute To Billie Holiday

Laika Fatien - Misery: A Tribute To Billie Holiday

  • Genre: Jazz
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1903 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Laïka Fatien
Title Of Album: Misery: A Tribute To Billie Holiday
Year Of Release: October 7, 2008
Label: Blujazz
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Quality: MP3 / Joint Stereo
Bitrate: VBR 174kbps / 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 51:02 min
Total Size: 63.89 MB
A really great little album - and light years from the straight torch tribute you might expect! Laika Fatien's working here with bold piano help from Robert Glasper - a player whose soulful, flowing tones have made his Blue Note albums some real recent treasures in our collections - and whose music here is a perfect match for Laika's righteous style of singing! Although the tunes are familiar numbers from the Billie Holiday songbook, the execution is quite different than the originals - often not as fragile, with a brooding sense of power that's totally great - especially on the tunes that bring in some added work from saxophonist David El Malek. If you dug Laika's previous album, you'll like this one equally well -- and hopefully the Holiday connection will hip some new listeners to her sound too, and bring this excellent singer a wide new audience.
1 Strange Fruit 5:12
2 Lady's Back In Town 4:15
3 Don't Explain 3:07
4 You Can't Lose A Broken Heart 3:18
5 What's New 2:07
6 All Of You 3:39
7 How Deep Is The Ocean 4:39
8 Lover Come Back To Me 4:39
9 Misery 4:38
10 You Turned The Tables On Me 4:55
11 Gloomy Sunday 5:12
12 Left Alone 5:21

Alternative download links

Download | Download Download | Download Download | Download

Related MP3 FLAC to Laika Fatien - Misery: A Tribute To Billie Holiday
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018