Freddy Cole - Im Not My Brother, Im Me (2004)

Freddy Cole - Im Not My Brother, Im Me (2004)

Artist: Freddy Cole
Title: I'm Not My Brother, I'm Me
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: HighNote Records
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (image + .cue, log, scans)
Total Time: 68:21 min
Total Size: 278 MB

01. Clown Town [03:30]
02. Where Did Everyone Go? / How Did She Look? [06:41]
03. Home Fried Potatoes [04:19]
04. Overjoyed [04:02]
05. I Just Found Out About Love [04:57]
06. Like A Quiet Storm [06:14]
07. Brandy [03:43]
08. Sunday, Monday Or Always [04:39]
09. More Than Likely [04:39]
10. To Whom It May Concern [03:35]
11. Funny (Not Much) [03:45]
12. The Best Man [02:54]
13. He Was The King [02:56]
14. Nat Cole Medley [10:04]
15. I'm Not My Brother, I'm Me [02:17]
One can sympathize with Freddie Cole's plight. The younger brother of Nat King Cole, Freddie has spent most of his life in his brother's shadow, even though Nat died in 1965. The problem is that Freddie is also a pianist/vocalist and sometimes performs similar material. In fact, the title of this CD is a bit absurd, since Cole is heard playing in the same type of group that Nat made famous (a trio with guitarist Ed Zad and bassist Eddie Edwards) and his repertoire includes such songs as "Home Fried Potatoes," "To Whom It May Concern," "The Best Man," and a ten-minute, six-song "Nat Cole Medley." Add to that such originals as "He Was the King" and "I'm Not My Brother, I'm Me," and one is not allowed to forget for a moment that Freddie was Nat's brother. Actually, Freddie has an older and raspier voice (which is natural, since he has outlived Nat) and his piano style is more tied to 1950s jazz (such as Red Garland) than to swing. This fairly definitive CD from Freddie Cole does give one a strong sampling of his talents. -- Scott Yanow

Alternative download links


Related MP3 FLAC to Freddy Cole - Im Not My Brother, Im Me (2004)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018