VA - The Best Smooth Jazz Ever: GRP Twentieth Anniversary (2002)

VA - The Best Smooth Jazz Ever: GRP Twentieth Anniversary (2002)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: The Best Smooth Jazz Ever: GRP Twentieth Anniversary
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: GRP Records
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Format: FLAC (tracks) / MP3
Bitrate: Lossless / CBR 320 kBit/s
Total Time: 01:40:42
Total Size: 637 MB / 227 MB
01. Cast Your Fate to the Wind - David Benoit
02. She Likes to Watch - The Rippingtons
03. Ballerina - Special EFX
04. Mr. Chow - Acoustic Alchemy
05. People Make the World Go 'Round - Ramsey Lewis
06. Kid Gloves - Larry Carlton
07. Homecoming - Yellowjackets
08. Through the Test of Time - Patti Austin
09. Baby, Come to Me - George Howard
10. A Little Bumpin' - Lee Ritenour
01. Standing Together - George Benson
02. Crush - Richard Elliot
03. Just to Be Loved - Al Jarreau
04. ReJoyce - David Benoit
05. Madrid - Marc Antoine
06. Droptop - Jeff Golub
07. Closed Door Jam - Larry Carlton & Lee Ritenour
08. Mm-Mm Good - Joyce Cooling
09. Cruise Control - George Benson
10. Roll With It - Richard Elliot, David Benoit, Jeff Golub
11. Uncle Darrows - Richard Elliot, David Benoit, Jeff Golub
The Best Smooth Jazz Ever is packed with smooth jazz radio hits and highlights the musicians who have brought depth and soul to the most successful contemporary jazz label in the world over the past 20 years. Celebrating the 20th anniversary of GRP Records, this two-CD set features some of the most respected names in the jazz style, including Al Jarreau, Lee Ritenour, Ramsey Lewis, and Patti Austin, as well a hot new rendition of Steve Winwood's "Roll With It," performed by David Benoit, Richard Elliot, and Jeff Golub under the group name Group 3. Despite the fact that several of the artists on this compilation no longer record for GRP -- such as the Rippingtons, the Yellowjackets, and Acoustic Alchemy -- many of them got their start at GRP, a label co-founded by pianist Dave Grusin. There are many exceptional highlights within this set, including Al Jarreau's hit from his 2000 GRP debut, Tomorrow Today, titled "Just to Be Loved," and the late George Howard's rendition of "Baby Come to Me" from his 1991 CD titled Love and Understanding. However, the exclusion of songs performed or composed by Dave Grusin from this special anniversary compilation is very noticeable, especially since the label has received over 80 Grammy nominations and other coveted awards under his aegis. Otherwise this excellent compilation speaks for itself and remains a first-rate selection for any contemporary jazz collection. -- Paula Edelstein ~

Alternative download links DOWNLOAD DOWNLOAD

Related MP3 FLAC to VA - The Best Smooth Jazz Ever: GRP Twentieth Anniversary (2002)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018