Diplomats of Solid Sound - Lets Cool One! (2003)

Diplomats of Solid Sound - Lets Cool One! (2003)

  • Genre: Jazz, Soul, Funk
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1251 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Diplomats of Solid Sound
Album: Let's Cool One!
Label: Estrus
Release date: 9 Sep 2003
Genre: Soul / Jazz / Funk
Format: mp3 320 kbit
Tracks: 12
Total Time: 34:02
Total Size: 80.4 Mb
Track list:
1. The Cuber Baker (2:43)
2. Who's Got the Grady? (2:21)
3. You Can Make It If You Try (2:35)
4. Swamp Chomp (3:21)
5. Shadow of Your Soul (2:37)
6. Ribsticker (3:12)
7. My Place BBQ (2:13)
8. Pistol Allen (2:56)
9. Don't Touch My Popcorn (2:39)
10. Escape from Shantytown (2:36)
11. Clyde the Glide (2:28)
12. The Plush Club (4:21)
In a world where the average person's knowledge of funk doesn't seem to go far beyond what Dr. Dre borrowed from George Clinton, it's a pleasure to have the Diplomats of Solid Sound around, who with cool and concision conjure up the shades of the Meters and Booker T. & the MG's on their 2003 album Let's Cool One. While it would be a mistake to say that Hammond handler Nate "Count" Basinger and his partners in crime are quite up to the level of their role models, they hit the target with a lot more accuracy than one might expect, and while these guys know how to brew up a percolating groove (try "Ribsticker" or "Swamp Chomp" and you'll see), they also have an admirably laid-back approach to old-school soul, knowing not to force it if it doesn't fit. Featuring 11 swank originals and a quality cover of Sly Stone's "You Can Make It if You Try," Let's Cool One doesn't stray terribly far from its influences, but these guys are just good enough to capture not just the sound but the ineffable feel of vintage instrumental soul, and they do it with taste, flair, and just the right amount of grit. And any band who not only knows enough to call a song "Pistol Allen" but makes the name-check stick must be doing something right. Cool stuff.

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Diplomats of Solid Sound - Lets Cool One! (2003)
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018