Medeski Martin Wood - The Dropper

Medeski Martin Wood - The Dropper

  • Genre: Jazz, Rock, FLAC / APE
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1316 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Medeski Martin & Wood
Title Of Album: The Dropper
Year Of Release: October 24, 2000
Label: Blue Note Records
Genre: Jazz, Fusion
Format: FLAC
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Size: 297.17 MB
Whether Medeski Martin and Wood named The Dropper in the hip-hop and dance traditions of "dropping science" and "dropping the beat" or to name-drop a delivery mechanism for liquid lysergic acid diethylamide, the album is jazz's best bridge to all three in a long time. This is the perfect electric corollary to early 2000's acoustic blowout, Tonic, with MMW at full tilt from the album-opening growl that announces "We Are Rolling" (a double entendre, perchance?). Medeski jumps on his keys with such force that it's several tunes into The Dropper before you realize you've come through hazes and blazes of beats and billows to hear a pristine midrange piano. The more overtly beat-oriented sound of 1998's Combustication appears periodically here, but so too do wild alto sax windstorms--care of guest and Sun Ra band veteran Marshall Allen and guitar thunder from guest Marc Ribot (among other esteemed visitors). But the real push and pull of The Dropper come with on-the-one beats punching through thick storms of sound and leading the trio into sweet, soulful spots like the bossa-painted "Note Bleu." Colossal shape shifting is the order of the day. So drop on by. --Andrew Bartlett
1. We Are Rolling
2. Big Time
3. Felic
4. Partido Alto
5. Illinization
6. Bone Digger
7. Note Bleu
8. Dropper, The
9. Philly Cheese Blunt
10. Sun Sleigh
11. Tsukemono
12. Shacklyn Knights
13. Norah 6
Feel good jazz-funk titans Medeski, Martin & Wood continue to push at the contours of their wide-ranging hybrid of hip-hop, electronica, experimental jazz, and deep groove on their 2000 release, THE DROPPER. While less consistently funky than COMBUSTICATION, THE DROPPER still serves up plenty of head-nodding rhythms and tasty, mind-expanding textures. Guitarist Marc Ribot and former Sun Ra Arkestra saxophonist Marshall Allen make cameo appearances, adding spice to MMW's sonic stew. Bossa nova jams ("Note Bleu") and rhumba-flavored pulses ("Partido Alto") provide additional twists and turns to the ever-satisfying, earthy, heady, lockstep chemistry of this excellent trio.
Recorded at Shacklyn, Brooklyn, New York in 1999 & 2000.
Medeski Martin & Wood: John Medeski (keyboards); Chris Wood (acoustic & electric basses); Billy Martin (drums, bass drum, talking drum, repique, wood block, agogo bells, gong, mbira, berimbau, cuica, lenga, reco-reco).
Producers: John Medeski, Billy Martin, Chris Wood, Scotty Hard.

Alternative download links

Medeski_Martin_Wood_-_The_Dropper.part1.rar Medeski_Martin_Wood_-_The_Dropper.part2.rar Medeski_Martin_Wood_-_The_Dropper.part1.rar Medeski_Martin_Wood_-_The_Dropper.part2.rar Medeski_Martin_Wood_-_The_Dropper.part1.rar Medeski_Martin_Wood_-_The_Dropper.part2.rar

Related MP3 FLAC to Medeski Martin Wood - The Dropper
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018