Chris Barbers Jazz Band - The Original Copenhagen Concert (1995)

Chris Barbers Jazz Band - The Original Copenhagen Concert (1995)

  • Genre: Jazz, FLAC / APE, CD-Rip
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1295 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Chris Barber's Jazz Band
Title: The Original Copenhagen Concert
Year Of Release: 1995
Label: Storyville
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue, log, scans)
Total Time: 01:09:07
Total Size: 345 MB


01. We Shall Walk Through The Streets Of The City (3:46)
02. Bugle Boy March (4:07)
03. St. George's Rag (3:49)
04. Making Whoopee (5:31)
05. Maryland, My Maryland (3:35)
06. Tight Like That (4:11)
07. Hush-A-Bye (2:59)
08. Lawd, You've Sure Been Good To Me (3:22)
09. The Martinique (4:16)
10. Panama Rag (4:34)
11. Down Home Rag (5:08)
12. Wabash Blues (6:15)
13. Over In The Gloryland (3:51)
14. Over In The New Burying Ground (3:05)
15. Leavin' Blues (4:02)
16. St. Philip Street Breakdown (2:59)
17. South (3:36)

In 1954, trombonist Chris Barber became a full-time bandleader, and he has had his own group ever since. The original unit, one of the first English trad bands, is well featured on a wide-ranging show at this concert, which has been reissued along with three previously unreleased tracks on a 1995 Storyville CD. The Barber band (with trumpeter Pat Halcox, clarinetist Monty Sunshine, who is showcased on "St. Philip Street Breakdown," and Lonnie Donegan on banjo, guitar and vocals) was more primitive than it would become, often looking at the time toward George Lewis' group for inspiration. A change of pace is heard on two selections that have Donegan singing folk songs ("Over In the New Burying Ground" and "Leavin' Blues") with Barber forming a duet by switching to bass. A historic release, although there are better Chris Barber CDs currently available. -- Scott Yanow

Alternative download links


Related MP3 FLAC to Chris Barbers Jazz Band - The Original Copenhagen Concert (1995)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018