Kenny Ball And His Jazzmen - Midnight In Moscow

Kenny Ball And His Jazzmen - Midnight In Moscow

  • Genre: Jazz
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1522 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist:Kenny Ball And His Jazzmen
Title Of Album:Midnight In Moscow
Year Of Release: LP 1962
Label:Kapp Records
Bitrate:CBR 320 kbps
Total Time:36:03
Total Size:86.34 MB
1 Midnight In Moscow
2 Tin Roof Blues
3 My Mother's Eyes
4 Big Noise From Winnetka
5 Yes She Do, No She Don't
6 Puttin' On The Ritz
7 American Patrol
8 Dark Eyes
9 You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby
10 Savoy Blues
11 High Society
This CD of Midnight in Moscow isn't a reissue of the 1962 Kapp Records 11-song LP of that name but, rather, a 16-track compilation that includes the 1961 hit, but ranges freely up through the second half of the '60s. Forty-four years on, "Midnight in Moscow" is still resplendent in a beguiling panache that set it apart from most of the by-the-numbers trad of the period, and the surrounding standards, including "Rondo" (Mozart given a Dixieland arrangement), are all worthwhile hearing. The best track here may well be the live version of "Saturday Night," the Sammy Cahn/Jule Styne number, which is done as a slow, bluesy ballad, carefully understated right down to the quietly elegant banjo solo. "Someday You'll Be Sorry" is also not only highly enjoyable but instructive, a trad jazz cut that is close enough to skiffle to explain in its playing the relationship between the two musical forms, which isn't always obviously to those coming in late to the story. The later tracks don't always hold up quite so well -- the Beatles included so many trad elements in "When I'm Sixty-Four," that a trad rendition of it just doesn't seem that unusual or special, even if it is well played and performed with a great deal of sympathy for the material; similarly, there are better and more inventive and distinctive jazz-oriented renditions of "Hello Dolly" than the one featured here. Much more successful are "Acapulco 1922" and "Casablanca," and the jazz reinterpretations of Dimitri Tiomkin's "Fifty Five Days at Peking" and "The Green Leaves of Summer." ~ Bruce Eder, All Music Guide

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Kenny Ball And His Jazzmen - Midnight In Moscow
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018