Tucker Zimmerman - Ten Songs By Tucker Zimmerman Expanded Remastered (2015)

Tucker Zimmerman - Ten Songs By Tucker Zimmerman Expanded Remastered (2015)

  • Genre: Folk, Rock, FLAC / APE
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1697 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Tucker Zimmerman
Title: Ten Songs By Tucker Zimmerman
Year Of Release: 2015 [1969]
Label: RPM/Fly Records [RETRO 971]
Genre: Folk Rock, Psychedelic, Acoustic, Singer-Songwriter
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Total Time: 1:13:12
Total Size: 202 mb / 452 mb

Though American, singer/songwriter Tucker Zimmerman was based in England at the time he recorded this debut LP in the late 1960s. Despite a mightily impressive support cast, it's rather awkward folk-rock that's reminiscent of some similarly tentative efforts by New York folkies of the mid-'60s to get into a more contemporary, mildly electrified bag. Though all of Zimmerman's accompanists were major musicians -- Rick Wakeman (organ), Shawn Phillips (sitar, electric guitar), Aynsley Dunbar (drums), and fellow American expatriate Tony Visconti (bass, six-string Spanish guitar), the last of whom also produced -- it feels like they're holding back, whether under instructions or because they're not wholly at ease with the material. Zimmerman has a declarative, tail-end-of-the-folk-troubadour-era vocal and compositional style that might bring to mind minor American artists of the era like Jake Holmes and Patrick Sky. Some of the more theatrical songs sound a little like the most Kurt Weill-esque material Judy Collins recorded in her Baroque folk-rock phase. Others (especially "Alpha Centauri" and "October Mornings," the latter of which is decorated by some nice Mellotron touches) are in the rough vicinity of early Tim Buckley-like haunting earnestness; and "A Face That Hasn't Sold Out" and "Bird Lives," uncharacteristically (for this album at least), see him try his hand at all-out ballsy blues-folk-rock. He's not close to being in the same artistic league as Collins or Buckley, though, and his songs, though wordy and ambitious, aren't all that articulate, falling into inchoate rage in "Children of Fear."
1 Bird Lives
2 October Mornings
3 A Face That Hasn't Sold Out
4 The Roadrunner
5 Children Of Fear
6 The Wind Returns Into The Night
7 Running, Running From Moment To Moment
8 Upsidedown Circus World
9 Blue Goose
10 Alpha Centauri
Bonus Tracks
11 The Red Wind (Stereo)
12 Moondog
13 La Rinascente
14 Non C'e Niente Mai
15 En Memoire De Jean Genet
16 Les Visions De Rimbaud [Featuring – Marie Claire]
17 The Red Wind (Mono)
Tucker Zimmerman – vocals, 12-string guitar, harmonica, piano, harpsichord, melotron
Tony Visconti – electric bass, 6-string Spanish guitar
Shawn Phillips – sitar, electric guitar
Rick Wakeman – organ
Aynsley Dunbar – drums

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Tucker Zimmerman - Ten Songs By Tucker Zimmerman Expanded Remastered (2015)
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018