Billy Bragg Wilco - Mermaid Avenue Vol. II (2000)

Billy Bragg Wilco - Mermaid Avenue Vol. II (2000)

Artist: Billy Bragg & Wilco
Title: Mermaid Avenue Vol. II
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Elektra / Wea
Genre: Indie Folk, Alt. Country, Alt. Rock
Quality: FLAC (log,tracks+cue)
Total Time: 0:49:53
Total Size: 326 Mb

01. Airline to Heaven
02. My Flying Saucer
03. Feed of Man
04. Hot Rod Hotel
05. I Was Born
06. Secret of the Sea
07. Stetson Kennedy
08. Remember the Mountain Bed
09. Blood of the Lamb
10. Aginst Th’ Law
11. All You Fascists
12. Joe DiMaggio Done It Again
13. Meanest Man
14. Black Wind Blowing
15. Somebody Some Morning Sometime
Who knew that after the undeniable, sometimes shimmering, sometimes rustic magic of Mermaid Avenue that there was enough quality material for a second volume? By setting their own music to Woody Guthrie's lyrics, Billy Bragg and Wilco once again offer a 50-minute testament to Guthrie's long, dynamic shadow. This sophomore meeting is as balanced between the up-tempo and the down-tempo as was the first Mermaid. Jeff Tweedy's rasp gives all the Wilco-driven tunes a certain grit, and the songs Bragg takes on have a luminescent, frank earnestness that intensifies the delivery of Guthrie's lyrical social critiques. "Hot Rod Hotel," with Bragg on the mic, melds the two approaches best, and "Secret of the Sea" is the CD's poppiest centerpiece--aptly aimed at radio airplay like the first Mermaid's "California Stars." Natalie Merchant's playful "I Was Born" is brief but sweet, just as bluesman Corey Harris's "Against the Law" is an uplift, with his passionate vocal wail mirroring the political gist of Guthrie's words. The moody closers "Black Wind Blowing" and "Someday, Some Morning, Sometime" end Volume 2 with a pair of sweetly sad gems, one a Bragg-sung folk blues that mourns the loss of cotton crops in the American dustbowl era, the other a Tweedy-sung paean to lost love. At the dawn of a new millennium, with labor and the distribution of wealth as pressing historical issues that disrupt every International Monetary Fund and World Trade Organization soiree, the time is right for Woody. --Andrew Bartlett

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Billy Bragg Wilco - Mermaid Avenue Vol. II (2000)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018