Alfred Schnittke - The Ten Symphonies 6CD (2009) (LOSSLESS MP3)

Alfred Schnittke - The Ten Symphonies 6CD (2009) (LOSSLESS MP3)

Artist: Alfred Schnittke
Title: The Ten Symphonies
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: BIS
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)/MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 07:13:31 min
Total Size: 1,54 Gb/996 mb

It may be years before we can tell if the performances in BIS' set of Alfred Schnittke's complete symphonies are great or not. There is hardly any competition, at best one or two other recordings for each work, and although most of the alternatives were made with the great Gennady Rozhdestvensky at the podium, they are not necessarily definitive, since most of Schnittke's symphonies were composed in the 1980s and 1990s, and no performance tradition has yet evolved to determine if they are centralist or eccentric performances. It may turn out that BIS' varied group of conductors has turned in a varied lot of performances. Leif Segerstam's interpretations of the First and Second might be considered wildly radical, while Tadaaki Otaka's interpretations of the Sixth and Seventh might be conservative. Okko Kamu's reading of the Fourth could come to be compared with Bruno Walter's of Mahler's Fourth for sympathetic insight, while Eri Klas' account of the Third could prove as insensitive as Leonard Bernstein's performance of Sibelius' Third. Lü Jia's take on the Eighth and Owain Arwel Hughes' on the Ninth might be counted as canonical, while Neeme Järvi's version of the Fifth might be discounted as a run-through.
Two things, though, are clearly apparent after listening to this set many times: Alfred Schnittke is a great symphonist and his works in that form favorably compare with those by his direct forbears, Dmitry Shostakovich and Gustav Mahler. Like them, Schnittke can contain the whole world and everything in it in his symphonies, yet they are still wholly personal and often quite intimate, particularly the later symphonies. Like his predecessors, he can be bitterly ironic but sometimes sweetly sentimental in tone, massively brutal but sometimes delicately tender in effect, and he is always as adept at expressing an extraordinary range of human emotion and experience in his themes and harmonies. Like them, Schnittke in his later symphonies deals with the eternal verities -- love of life and fear of death -- in a manner that is at once deeply personal but universally comprehensible. Schnittke's harmonic language is intensely dissonant in the First Symphony, and the later symphonies are not always any easier going, but the composer's overwhelming urge to communicate makes his music immensely compelling. BIS' digital sound is clear, clean, and immediate.
CD 1
1. Symphony No.1 - I. Senza tempo
2. Symphony No.1 - II. Allegretto
3. Symphony No.1 - III. Lento
4. Symphony No.1 - IV. Lento
5. Applause
CD 2
1. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: I. Rezitando (Kyrie)
2. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: II. Maestoso (Gloria)
3. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: III. Moderato (Credo)
4. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: IV. Peasante (Crucifixus)
5. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: [IV.] Coda: Agitato (Et resurrexit) - Maestoso
6. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: Introduction to V. Andante (Sanctus)
7. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: V. Andante
8. Symphony No.2 - St. Florian: VI. Andante (Agnus Dei)
CD 3
1. Symphony No.3 - I. Einleitung
2. Symphony No.3 - II. Sonatensatz. Allegro
3. Symphony No.3 - III. Scherzo. Allegretto
4. Symphony No.3 - IV. Finale. Adagio
5. Symphony No.7 - I. Andante
6. Symphony No.7 - II. Largo
7. Symphony No.7 - III. Allegro
CD 4
01. Symphony No.4 - Andante poco pesante
02. Symphony No.4 - 'Cadenza'
03. Symphony No.4 - Moderato
04. Symphony No.4 - Molto pesante, Moderato
05. Symphony No.4 - Vivo
06. Symphony No.4 - Moderato, Andante poco pesante
07. Symphony No.4 - 'Coro'
08. Concerto Grosso No.4 - Symphony No.5 - I. Allegro
09. Concerto Grosso No.4 - Symphony No.5 - II. Allegretto
10. Concerto Grosso No.4 - Symphony No.5 - III. Lento, Allegro
11. Concerto Grosso No.4 - Symphony No.5 - IV. Lento
CD 5
1. Symphony No.6 - I. Allegro moderato
2. Symphony No.6 - II. Presto
3. Symphony No.6 - III. Adagio
4. Symphony No.6 - IV. Allegro vivace
5. Symphony No.8 - I. Moderato
6. Symphony No.8 - II. Allegro moderato
7. Symphony No.8 - III. Lento
8. Symphony No.8 - IV. Allegro moderato
9. Symphony No.8 - V. Lento
CD 6
1. Symphony No.0 - I. Allegro ma non troppo
2. Symphony No.0 - II. Allegro vivace
3. Symphony No.0 - III. Andante
4. Symphony No.0 - IV. Allegro
5. Symphony No.9: - I. [Andante]
6. Symphony No.9 - II. Moderato
7. Symphony No.9 - III. Presto

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Alfred Schnittke - The Ten Symphonies 6CD (2009) (LOSSLESS MP3)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018