Jordi Savall - Alfons V El Magnanim - El Cancionero De Montecassin (2001)

Jordi Savall - Alfons V El Magnanim - El Cancionero De Montecassin (2001)

Artist: Jordi Savall
Title: Alfons V El Magnanim - El Cancionero De Montecassin
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Alia Vox
Genre: Classical, Sacred
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
Total Time: 71:15 + 74:30
Total Size: 811 Mb

CD 1:
01. "Adoramus te Domine"
02. "Adoramus te Domine"
03. "Crecem tuam adoramus"
04. "Ecce enim propter lingnum"
05. "Adoramus te Domine"
Ave maris stella
06. "Ave maris stella"
07. "Sumens illud ave"
08. "Solve vincla reis"
09. "Monstra te esse matrem"
10. "Virgo singularis"
11. "Vitam praesta puram"
12. "Sit laus Deo Patri"
13. "Amen"
14. "Ave maris stella"
Veni sancte spiritus
15. "Veni sancte spiritus"
16. "Veni pater pauperum"
17. "Consolatro optime"
18. "In labore requies"
19. "O lux beatissima"
20. "Sine tuo nomine"
21. "Lava quod est sordidum"
22. "Flecte, quod est rigidum"
23. "Du tuis fidelibus"
24. "Da virtutis meritum"
25. "Amen"
Miserere nostri - Vexilla Regis
26. "Miserere nostri"
27. "Vexilla regis prodeunt"
28. "Quo vulneratus in super"
29. "Impleta sunt quae concinit"
30. "Arbor decora et fulgida"
31. "Beata cujus brachiis"
32. "O crux ave, spes unica"
33. "Te summa Deus Trinitas"
34. "Miserere nostri. Amen"
35. "Fantasia"
36. "Mganificat anima mea Dominum"
37. "Et exsultavit spiritus meus"
38. "Quia respexit humilitatem"
39. "Quia fecit mihi magna"
40. "Et misericordia ejus"
41. "Fecit potentiam in brachio suo"
42. "Deposuit potentes de sede"
43. "Esurientes implevit bonis"
44. "Suscepit Israel puerum suum"
45. "Sicut locutus est ad patres nostros"
46. "Gloria Patri et Filio"
47. "Sicut erat in principio. Amen"
48. "Patres nostri peccaverunt"
Cum autem venissem
49. "Cum autem venissem ad locum"
50. "O dulcissime filie Sion"
51. "O vos qui transitis per viam"
52. "O nimis triste spectaculum"
53. "Cum portaretur ad sepulcrum"
54. "Cum vero venissem ad locum"
55. "Amen"
CD 2:
01. "Chiave, chiave"
02. "Merce te chiamo"
03. "La fille guillemin"
04. "O tempo bono"
05. "Zappay"
06. "Piangendo chiamo"
07. "Puisque vos me lasses seulete - Je ne vous amare Marioneta"
08. "Alle stamenge"
09. "Collinetto"
10. "Amor tu non me gabasti"
11. "Je vos pri mon tres"
12. "Correno multi cani"
Mort tu as navr‚ - Miserere pie Jhesu
13. "Miserere pie Jesu"
14. "Mort tu as navr‚ de ton dart"
15. "Retoricque, se Dieu me gard"
16. "En sa jonesse fut soudart"
17. "La Spagna"
18. "Qu'es mi vida preguntais"
19. "Viva viva Rey Reffando"
20. "De tous biens plain"
21. "Dindirindin"
La Capella Reial de Catalunya
Montserrat Figueras, soprano
Carlos Mena, contreténor
Lambert Climent & Francesc Garrigosa, ténors
Jordi Ricart, baryton - Daniele Carnovich, basse
Jordi Savall, Sergi Casademunt, Eunice Brandao, Sophie Watillon, Philippe Pierlot, Lorenz Duftschmid, violes de gambe
Jean-Pierre Canihac, cornetto
Béatrice Delpierre, chirimía
Daniel Lassalle & Richard Cheetham, saqueboutes
Josep Borràs, bombarde
Arianna Savall, arpa renacentista
Rolf Lislevand & Xavier Díaz, laúdes
Michael Behringer, organo di legno
Pedro Estevan, percussion
Direction Jordi Savall
The works on this 2-CD set all come from a single source: a document called "Cancionero de Montecassino" which is believed to contain works composed between 1430 and 1480. Somehow the document has survived down through the centuries; it was almost lost when the Abbey where it was stored was bombed in 1944. Luckily the document survived so that this amazing CD set could be recorded by the - also amazing - Le Capella Reial de Catalunya.
This CD is the second in a series entitled "Musicas Reales", the first of which being "Carlos V" containing works mainly from the 16th century. If you enjoyed that one, then "Alfons V el Magnanim" will be a welcome addition to your CD spinner.
There is beautiful polyphony, harmony, pieces for single and multiple voices, trumpets, violins, and much much more all packed into 2 CDs that run over an hour each (CD1 is over 71 minutes long, CD2 is over 74 minutes long, so you get plenty of music for the price). The musicians and choir are stunning, and the music will stick with you long after the CDs stop rotating.
The first CD focuses on the Religious music contained in the Cancionero de Montecassino, and is thus more subdued and ethereal than the second CD which contains profane music from the same source. The second CD has some uppidty tunes and the mood is drastically different from the relatively more subdued first CD. The CDs together represent a wide range of the music of the 15th century. Alfons V made Naples his homebase, and from this city he attracted musicians from all over - what was then known as - "the world". Thus, this collection is really an amalgam of many styles and contains music sung in many languages. The CD booklet contains much information about Alfons V, the Cancionero de Montecassino, and the music on these CDs (in 6 languages, which is typical for Alia Vox). This collection is well worth the price and will reward many listenings for any fan of early Renaissance music.
CD 1:
CD 2:

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Jordi Savall - Alfons V El Magnanim - El Cancionero De Montecassin (2001)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018