VA - The Ace Story Volume 4 (2012) Remastered

VA - The Ace Story Volume 4 (2012) Remastered

Artist: Various Artists
Title: The Ace Story Volume 4
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Ace Records [CDCHD 1337]
Genre: Rhythm & Blues, Blue-Eyed Soul, Rockabilly
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Total Time: 58:48 min
Total Size: 149 mb / 231 mb

This fourth entry in chronicling the story of Johnny Vincent's Jackson, Mississippi based Ace Records by the British company that has (legally) used the company logo to become one of the world's largest reissue companies is another fine one. Loaded with 16 tracks of New Orleans styled dynamite from the label's early days, this compilation kicks off with Johnny Angel's "Teenage Wedding," a perfect example of the crossover sound that Vincent often sought on his releases. Angel, a White Cajun singer, is backed by Huey "Piano" Smith and his band, with the end result being a typical 1950s insert the names of hit songs in the lyrics rocker propelled by a driving Crescent City beat. Soul singer Joe Tex started his early career with Ace and he's represented by one of his most uncharacteristic tracks, "Charlie Brown Got Expelled," an answer record to the Coasters' hit, "Charlie Brown" and a later effort, "Yum Yum Yum." More of the Crescent City alumni saw single releases on the label and are collected here with "Happy Sax" and "Walk On" by saxman Alvin Tyler, "I Wanna Know Why" by Roland Cooke, "Tee-Na-Na" by Dicky Williams and Eddie Bo's "I'll Keep On Trying" being the notable tracks here. And of course, the ever present Huey "Piano" Smith and the Clowns are here with two selections, "Scald Dog" and "Free, Single And Disengaged." Selections from Jesse Allen, Joe & Ann, Floyd Brown, Albert Scott and Frankie Lee Sims (his "Walkin' With Frankie" which, inexplicably, got the 50 something Texas bluesman a shot on American Bandstand back then) round out the compilation. No hits aboard, but a great cross section of music, making this a worthy entry in the series.

01. Johnny Angel - Teenage Wedding
02. Dicky Williams - Tee-Na-Na
03. Alvin ''Red'' Tyler - Walk On
04. Roland Cook - I Wanna Know Why
05. Joe & Ann - Wherever You May Be
06. Huey Smith & His Clowns - Free, Single And Disengaged
07. Jesse Allen - Goodbye Blues
08. Joe Tex & His X Class Mates - Charlie Brown Got Expelled
09. Huey Smith - Scald-Dog
10. Alvin ''Red'' Tyler - Happy Sax aka Stinky
11. Floyd Brown - Can I Have A Word
12. Albert Scott - Can't Let You Go, I Love You So
13. Joe Tex - Yum, Yum, Yum
14. Joe Tex - Mother's Advice
15. Eddie Bo - I'll Keep On Trying
16. Frankie Lee Sims - Walking With Frankie
17. Al Collins & Orchestra - I Got The Blues For You
18. Bobby Marchan & The Clowns - You Can't Stop Her
19. Huey & Jerry - I Think You Jivin' Me
20. Earl King - Those Lonely, Lonely Nights
21. Sammy Myers with The King Mose Royal Rockers - My Love Is Here To Stay
22. Bat Carroll - Aw! Who
23. Earl King - Well-O Well-O Well-O Baby
24. Huey ''Piano'' Smith & His Clowns - Don't You Know Yockomo

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to VA - The Ace Story Volume 4 (2012) Remastered
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018