Delbert McClinton - Genuine Rhythm The Blues (2000)

Delbert McClinton - Genuine Rhythm The Blues (2000)

  • Genre: Blues, Country, Rock
  • Formats: MP3 FLAC WMA HD APE
  • Album Size: 1808 mb.
  • Archive: ZIP RAR
Artist: Delbert McClinton
Title: Genuine Rhythm & The Blues
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Hip-O Records
Genre: Modern Electric Blues, Blues Rock, Blues Country
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 45:16
Total Size: 105 MB

01. Lipstick, Powder & Paint (2:24)
02. Lovey Dovey (3:24)
03. Pledging My Love (2:52)
04. Before You Accuse Me (3:07)
05. Blue Monday (2:02)
06. In The Jailhouse Now (3:33)
07. Let Love Come Between Us (2:52)
08. Turn On Your Love Light (3:57)
09. Have Mercy (3:58)
10. Just A Little Bit (3:05)
11. Corinna (3:30)
12. I'm Talking About You (2:54)
13. Spoonful (3:13)
14. A Mess Of Blues (4:20)
Far from a comprehensive overview of Delbert McClinton's four decade career, this is an enjoyable yet relatively brief disc focusing entirely on covers of classic R&B material. Compiled from the rugged Texas singer's four early solo albums recorded from 1974 through 1979, it shines a light onto McClinton's varied influences as well as being a consistently enjoyable listen.
A cursory scan of the song titles initially indicates there's not much exciting here. Many of these classics such as Bobby "Blue" Bland's "Turn on Your Lovelight," Fats Domino's "Blue Monday," and Don Covay's "Have Mercy" are well known through either their original versions or numerous renditions throughout the years. Upon closer listen though McClinton's approach to them is effortlessly soulful, and some of his arrangements- in particular transforming Willie Dixon's "Spoonful" from a wailing Chicago blues to a swampy soul stirrer- are refreshingly unique. McClinton's sand and honey inflected vocals flow easily, and his sharp band including horns, female backing vocals and tight ensemble playing, wrap themselves around the songs with loose precision.
The songs of Elvis Presley, Jimmie Rodgers, Chuck Berry, Johnny Ace, Big Joe Turner, The Clovers and Bo Diddley all become McClinton tunes as he latches onto their varied genres and transforms them into rollicking R&B. The anthology shares only one selection with the excellent Ultimate Collection, but even though it's cobbled together from albums recorded over five years, McClinton's cohesive style bonds these tracks into a surprisingly unified whole. Thoughtful and informative liner notes explain the source material, and the lack of individual personnel listings, as well as the album's relative brevity, prove to be minor shortcomings. ~Review by Hal Horowitz
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.
| |

Alternative download links

Uploaded Turbobit Hitfile

Related MP3 FLAC to Delbert McClinton - Genuine Rhythm The Blues (2000)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018