Oscar Perry - Lonesome Train: Best of Oscar Perry 1 (1999)

Oscar Perry - Lonesome Train: Best of Oscar Perry 1 (1999)

Artist: Oscar Perry
Title: Lonesome Train: Best of Oscar Perry 1
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Edsel Records/Crazy Cajun [EDCD 614]
Genre: Texas Blues, Soul, Funk, Ballad
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Total Time: 58:06 min
Total Size: 139 mb / 304 mb

Oscar Perry was a Houston-based singer and guitarist with a feel for the blues (especially ballads) and the sweeter side of Southern soul. Perry made his first recording in 1957 with "Just Above a Whisper" on Spinner, and recorded for Lee J over the remainder of the decade. He hopped from label to label during the '60s, and found a home in the early '70s with producer Huey P. Meaux's Crazy Cajun label family. His most prolific recording period lasted from 1972-1976, during which time several of his 45s were picked up for distribution by Mercury. In 1973, Bobby "Blue" Bland recorded Perry's original composition "This Time I'm Gone for Good" and took it into the R&B Top Five; in the wake of that success, Bland cut several more Perry tunes over the next few years, including "When You Come to the End of Your Road" and "If I Weren't a Gambler." After his run with Meaux ended, Perry continued to record for a long string of small labels up into the mid-'80s. He returned in 1993 with Still Blue, a full-length soul-blues album for Ichiban; he still continues to play around his hometown of Houston. Over 1999-2000, the British Edsel label reissued much of Perry's Crazy Cajun output on the compilations Lonesome Train and Playboy Side of Town.
1. Keeps Hanging On
2. Can't Mend A Broken Heart
3. Lonesome Train
4. Pistol Packin' Son Of A Gun
5. Building A Home, Part 1
6. Building A Home, Part 2
7. You'll Never Be A Part Of The Past
8. I Give Up You Win
9. End Of The Road
10. Heaven Sent Angel
11. Let Me Grow Old With You
12. Best Thing I Ever Had
13. Do The Honky Tonk
14. Watergate
15. Three K's
16. I'll Take Care Of You
17. Just Make A Wish
18. Once In A While
19. When You Were Saying I Love, You Really Meant Goodbye
cbr 320 kbps

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Oscar Perry - Lonesome Train: Best of Oscar Perry 1 (1999)
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018