Delbert McClinton - The Definitive Collection (2006)

Delbert McClinton - The Definitive Collection (2006)

Artist: Delbert McClinton
Title: The Definitive Collection
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Hip-O Records / Universal Music
Genre: Blues, Southern Rock, Blues Rock
Quality: Mp3 320 / Flac (tracks, .cue, log)
Total Time: 73:20
Total Size: 180/479 Mb

01. Hey Baby
02. I Received A Letter
03. Honky Tonkin' (I Guess I Done Me Some)
04. Victim Of Life's Circumstances
05. Two More Bottles Of Wine
06. Special Love Song
07. Lipstick, Powder And Paint
08. Pledging My Love
09. I'm Dying As Fast As I Can
10. Love Rustler
11. Under Suspicion
12. Ain't What You Eat But How You Chew It
13. Take It Easy
14. 'B' Movie Boxcar Blues
15. A Mess Of Blues
16. Plain Old Makin' Love
17. The Jealous Kind
18. Giving It Up For Your Love
19. Sandy Beaches
20. Heartbreak Radio
21. Maybe Someday Baby
22. You Were Never Mine
In 1999, Hip-O Records, the reissue arm of Universal Music, issued a Delbert McClinton title in its Ultimate Collection series that contained 18 tracks and spanned McClinton's solo career from 1975 to 1997. Seven years later, Hip-O has taken another crack at a McClinton best-of for its The Definitive Collection series and improved on that earlier disc. (In the interim, there was also a 12-track McClinton compilation as part of the discount-priced 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection series and a good covers set, Genuine Rhythm & the Blues.) The Definitive Collection includes 17 of the 18 tracks found on Ultimate Collection, the only exception being "Shot from the Saddle," and the newer disc adds another five tracks, including McClinton's famous harmonica performance on the 1962 Bruce Channel hit "Hey Baby" and the Delbert & Glen chart entry "I Received a Letter." That makes The Definitive Collection the most comprehensive McClinton compilation yet, but it still isn't definitive, much less ultimate. The problem is that McClinton has been on too many record labels, and while Hip-O has licensed material from Atlantic and Capitol to go along with material from Smash, Clean, ABC, Capricorn, and Alligator that apparently now resides in the Universal vaults or was otherwise acquired, there is still one important part of his discography missing. McClinton's 1990s tenure on Curb Records isn't here, meaning that such songs as "Every Time I Roll the Dice" and "Tell Me About It" are not included. (Neither is the Capitol recording of "Good Man, Good Woman," McClinton's Grammy-winning duet with Bonnie Raitt, or anything from his affiliation with New West that started in 2001.) The best of Delbert McClinton still hasn't been captured on a single CD, but this is the closest anyone has come so far.(Review by William Ruhlmann)
| |
| |

Alternative download links

Related MP3 FLAC to Delbert McClinton - The Definitive Collection (2006)
All rights reserved. © 2000-2018