Elizabeth Kenny Phantasm - John Dowland: Lachrimae Or Seven Tears (2016)

Elizabeth Kenny Phantasm - John Dowland: Lachrimae Or Seven Tears (2016)

Artist: Elizabeth Kenny & Phantasm
Title: John Dowland: Lachrimae Or Seven Tears
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Linn Records
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (image + .cue, log, artwork)
Total Time: 57:31 min
Total Size: 269 MB


01. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 1, Lachrimae antiquae
02. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 2, Lachrimae antiquae novae
03. No. 3, Lachrimae gementes
04. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 4, Lachrimae tristes
05. No. 5, Lachrimae coactae
06. No. 6, Lachrimae amantis
07. No. 7, Lachrimae verae
08. No. 16, Mr. Nicholas Gryffith His Galliard
09. No. 13, Sir John Souch His Galliard
10. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 8, Semper Dowland semper dolens
11. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 15, Mr. Giles Hoby His Galliard
12. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 11, The King of Denmark's Galliard
13. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 19, Mr. Bucton His Galliard
14. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 12, The Earl of Essex Galliard
15. No. 18, Captain Piper His Galliard
16. No. 14, Mr. Henry Noell His Galliard
17. No. 17, Mr. Thomas Collier His Galliard with 2 Trebles
18. No. 9, Sir Henry Umpton's Funeral
19. No. 21, Mr. George Whitehead His Almand
20. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 20, Mrs. Nichol's Almand
21. Lachrimae "Seven Tears": No. 10, Mr. John Langton's Pavan

John Dowland's Lachrimae or Seven Tears is a series of seven instrumental pavans in five parts, based on the melody of his lute song, Flow, My Tears, followed by a collection of diverse dances. This famous book of chamber pieces is presented complete by the viol consort Phantasm, which is joined by lutenist Elizabeth Kenny, and their expert interpretations have the characteristic mix of poetic melancholy and courtly elegance that define Dowland's music. Of these pieces, the tenth track, Semper Dowland semper Dolens, bears Dowland's personal motto and conveys the impression that he was always dolorous. Yet the galliards and almans are lively enough to banish the gloom, and Phantasm plays with bright sonorities and a strong sense of rhythm, which seems difficult to articulate on viols, since the more typical sound of these instruments is the smooth flow of lines and harmonies and the poignant zing of the bowing. Linn's super audio recording is close-up and vibrant, which is ideal for making out the myriad details in the counterpoint and Kenny's often virtuosic improvisation. Highly recommended. -- Blair Sanderson

Alternative download links


Related MP3 FLAC to Elizabeth Kenny Phantasm - John Dowland: Lachrimae Or Seven Tears (2016)
All rights reserved.
WEBBG.com © 2000-2018